Fortin wins Canadian nationals

Quebec native adds to impressive multi-sport palmares

Veronique Fortin gave local team P-K Express/HNZ a lot to cheer about when she became the women's national road cycling champion on Friday after breaking clear of an elite group of riders on the final climb of the 103 kilometre race. Fortin finished with a time of three hours, four minutes and nine seconds. Lex Albrecht (Juvederm-Specialized) finished 18 seconds behind to take the silver medal, and Erinne Willock (Team TIBCO/To the Top) won the bronze medal, a further two seconds in arrears.

The 12.9 kilometre circuit, on the outskirts of Burlington, Ontario, which the women covered eight times, was dominated by a steep finishing climb up the Niagara Escarpment. Albrecht's team mate Moriah MacGregor of Whitehorse, Yukon, attacked early in the race, building up a lead of over four minutes, before she was finally caught in the last five kilometres. Fortin, one of the best climbers in the race, upped the tempo on the final climb to the finish line, riding away from the rest of the field to win her first national title.

"We were concerned about [MacGregor]," agreed Fortin, "but my team mate Sue Palmer-Komar did a lot of work for me helping to bring her back, and when I got to the climb I was able to go hard. This course suited me, so I knew that I had a good chance here."

Full Results
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Veronique Fortin (Can) P-K Express/ HNZ Strategic.Com3:04:09 
2Lex Albrecht (Can) Juvéderm-Specialized0:00:18 
3Erinne Willock (Can) Team Tibco/To The Top0:00:20 
4Denise Ramsden (Can) Juvederm-Specialized  
5Joelle Numainville (Can) Tibco-To The Top  
6Karol-Ann Canuel (Can) Vienne-Futuroscope0:00:25 
7Nik Vogler (Can) West Wood Cycle Cannondale P/0:00:34 
8Leah Kirchmann (Can) Team Manitoba0:00:36 
9Rhae-Christie Shaw (Can) Independent  
10Clara Hughes (Can) Equipe Du Quebec  
11Julie Beveridge (Can) Vienne-Futuroscope  
12Leah Guloien (Can) Missing Link Coaching Systems/0:00:43 
13Susan Palmer-Komar (Can) P-K Express/ Hnz Strategic.Com0:00:46 
14Kristine Brynjolfson (Can) Trek Red Truck Racing P/B Mosa  
15Heather Sprenger (Can) Team Ontario0:00:49 
16Mandy Dreyer (Can) Independent  
17Stephanie Skoreyko (Can) Kallisto/Wheels Of Bloor0:01:00 
18Jasmin Glaesser (Can) Cycling Bc  
19Anne Samplonius (Can) Now And Novaris For Ms0:01:07 
20Moriah Macgregor (Can) Juvederm-Specialized0:02:04 
21Tara Whitten (Can) Team Tibco/To The Top  
22Myriam Gaudreault (Can) Rocky Mountain Desjardins Vale0:02:29 
23Elisabeth Albert (Can) Rocky Mountain Desjardins Vale0:02:36 
24Annie Foreman-Mackey (Can) Independent  
25Suzie Brown (Can) P-K Express/ Hnz Strategic.Com0:02:39 
26Laura Bietola (Can) 3Rox Racing0:02:53 
27Jessica Hannah (Can) Cycling BC0:03:03 
28Pepper Harlton (Can) Juventus  
29Veronique Labontè (Can) Juvederm-Specialized0:04:46 
30Laura Brown (Can) Cycling BC0:04:52 
31Cara Gillis (Can) Missing Link Coaching Systems/0:05:10 
32Joanie Caron (Can) Juvederm-Specialized0:06:01 
33Shoshauna Laxson (Can) Trek Red Truck Racing P/B Mosa0:06:06 
34Jennifer Stephenson (Can) Reform:Cyclpower  
35Anne Guzman (Can) Juvederm-Specialized0:06:09 
36Veronique Drapeau-Zgoralski (Can) Veronique Juvederm-Specialized0:06:15 
37Carrie Cartmill (Can) Independent  
38Florence Laplante-Lamarche (Can) Florence Team Ontario  
39Julie Bellerose (Can) Metromint Cycling  
40Naomi Cooper (Can) Balance Point Racing0:06:21 
41Jenny Lehmann (Can) Cycling BC0:06:25 
42Katy Curtis (Can) Cyclemeisters CC0:06:27 
43Michelle Gauthier (Can) Re:Form/Cyclepower0:06:29 
44Marie-Noel Labrecque (Can) Equipe Du Quebec  
45Cayley Brooks (Can) Trek Canada0:06:45 
46Stephanie Roorda (Can) Cycling BC0:07:02 
DNFMerrill Collins (Can) Jet Fuel Coffee/La Bicicletta  
DNFStephanie Bester (Can) Coachchris.Ca/Multisport-Zone  
DNFJulia Garnet (Can) Trek Red Truck Racing P/B Mosa  
DNFAnne-Marie B. Morin (Can) Equipe Du Quebec  
DNFArlene Marchildon (Can) Total Sports The Bike Shop  
DNFKarlee Gendron (Can) Team Manitoba  
DNFLaura Haapamaki (Can) P-K Express/ Hnz Strategic.Com  
DNFVirginie Gauthier (Can) Equipe Du Quebec  
DNFAllison Lampi (Can) Re:Form/Cyclepower  
DNFSara Byers (Can) Juvederm-Specialized  
DNFEvelyne Gagnon (Can) Atrium Cc2R  
DNFAdriane Provost (Can) Equipe Du Quebec  
DNFElodie Gillard (Can) Atrium-Cc2R  
DNFKaitlin Kk Michener (Can) Team Ontario  
DNFAudrey Sarrazin (Can) Dynamiks De Contrecoeur  
DNFSarah Rasmussen (Can) Kallisto/Wheels Of Bloor  
DNFAlexandria Wilson (Can) Re:Form/Cyclepower  
DNFValina Sintal (Can) Lapdogs Cycling Club  
DNFKristen Worley (Can) Cycle Solutions/ Angry Johnny  
DNFKrista Ruby (Can) Team Ontario  
DNSValérie Crête (Can) Juvederm-Specialized  
DNSAndrea Elliott (Can) Port Hope Bicycle  
DNSCaroline Brunet (Can) Garneau-Club Chaussures-Norton  


Back to top