Jongewaard wins elite men's short track

Standish claims U19 championship

South Australia's Chris Jongewaard completed his successful return to elite-level mountain biking with a tight victory in the men's short track national championship, one day after claiming the elite men's cross country title.

Jongewaard outsprinted Victorian young gun Paul Van Der Ploeg for the win, while 2010 national champion Sid Taberlay collected the bronze 28 seconds later.

"Definitely backing up after yesterday is a good feeling. It's just a different type of race, there is so much heartrate involved, you have to keep it up and you can't really back off," Jongewaard said. "It makes it extra hard when you have a big power house chasing you down from behind."

Elite Men
1Chris Jongewaard0:23:19 
2Paul Van Der Ploeg (Felt Bicycles, Sram Components, Torq Nutrition)  
3Sid Taberlay (Kenda / H20 Overdrive)0:00:28 
4Lachlan Norris0:00:32 
5Ben Henderson (Torq/Anytime Fitness,Stromlo Forest Park,Capital Bicycle Hire)0:00:45 
6Aiden Lefmann  
7Luke Fetch (Search2Retain - Felt)  
8Ben Mather (Rapid Cycling, Adidas)  
9Peter Hatton  
10Andrew Blair (Swell Redshift Mtb Team, Felt, Frm, Sram, Maxxis)  
11Shaun Lewis  
12Trenton Day (Scott Bikes, Breakaway Cycles)  
13Mitchell Codner (Rotor / Frs Magura Gu Energy Gel)  
14Matthew Fleming (Clarence St Cyclery, Shimano, Trek)  
15James Downing (Lonsdale St Cyclery Canberra)  
16Brendan Johnston  
17Scott Liston (Search2Retain - Felt)  
18Ben Hogarth  
19Garry Millburn (Cannondale, Turramurra Cyclery, Hammer Nutrition)  
20Michael Crosbie  
21John Groves (Apollo Bikes)  
22Adrian Jackson  
23Cal Britten (Search2Retain - Felt)  
24Jack Lamshed (Search2Retain, Felt Bicycles)  
25Jarrad Burrell  
26Daniel McConnell  
27Neil Van Der Ploeg (Search2Retain - Felt)  
DNSNick Both (Swell-Redshift Racing)  
DNSJoshua Carlson (Rockstar Racing, Giant Bicycles, Ftptraining.Com)  
DNSAnthony Shippard  
Under 19 Men
1Ryan Standish (Ultimate Ride Bike Shop)0:18:56 
2Billy Sewell (Gordon Street Cycles, Focus, Haven Marine)0:00:03 
3Rowan Brown0:00:10 
4Christopher Aitken (Breakaway Cycles)0:00:18 
5Blake Polverino0:00:27 
6Alexander Meyland (Rock And Road Cycles/Giant Bicycles Aust)  
7Mitchell Vanetie  
8Jacob Langham  
9Sebastian Jayne  
10Daniel McDonald  
11Ben Comfort  
12James Hanus  
13Thomas Coach (Ultimate Ride)  
DNSDavid Wilson  
DNSAngus Maddern  
Sport Men
1Merlin Spranz0:19:13 
2Ben Bradley0:00:10 
3Christopher Hanson0:00:14 
4Reece Tucknott (Wembley Cycles Specialized Bikes Shotz)0:00:17 
5Chris Luxton0:00:41 
6Hamish Prosser  
7Darcy Pirotta  
8Phillip Mawbey  
9Bill Murphy  
10Kevin Harnett  
11Andrew Barcroft  
12Kevin Wells  
13Lucas Pitt  
DNSMark McInnes (Butler Hr, Kirrawee Cycles, Magura Forks And Brakes.)  
Back to top