US selects 51 riders for mountain bike Worlds

Elite, U23 and junior teams heading to Switzerland

USA Cycling announced its full contingent which will represent the country at the upcoming UCI Mountain Bike World Championships in Champery, Switzerland from August 29 - September 4.

The country will send seven men and seven women for the elite cross country events, 12 riders in the U23 and junior cross country events, 18 downhillers, six four cross racers and one trials rider.

US elite men's cross country national champion Todd Wells (Specialized) is an automatic nomination, along with Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek), Adam Craig (Giant) and Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek). Discretionary selections were Jeremiah Bishop (Cannondale Factory Racing), Michael Broderick (Kenda-Seven-NoTubes) and Spencer Paxson (Kona Bicycles).

Five women earned automatic bids including US cross country national champion Georgia Gould (Luna), Katie Compton (RaboBank-Giant), Lea Davison (Specialized), Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek), and Mary McConneloug (Kenda-Seven-NoTubes). Judy Freeman (Kenda-Felt MTB) and Krista Park (Cannondale-No Tubes) will join them as discretionary selections.

Aaron Gwin (Trek), winner of five World Cup downhill races earned an automatic nomination, as did USA Cycling Pro Mountain Bike Gravity Tour leader Cody Warren (DRD X-Fusion Intense).

Jacqueline Harmony (All Mountain Cyclery-Vixen Racing) and Jill Kintner (Seattle, Wash./RedBull-Transition Racing) will lead the women's downhill squad.

The women's four cross squad will be headed up by Melissa Buhl (KHS), a silver medalist in two World Cups and currently the sixth-ranked rider on the UCI's World Cup four cross rankings.

US Team for the 2011 UCI Mountain Bike World Championships

Elite men cross country
Jeremiah Bishop (Cannondale)
Mike Broderick (Kenda/Seven/NoTubes)
Adam Craig (Rabobank-Giant)
Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Trek)
Spencer Paxson (Kona Bicycles)
Sam Schultz (Subaru-Trek)
Todd Wells (Specialized)

Elite women cross country
Katie Compton (RaboBank-Giant)
Lea Davison (Specialized)
Judy Freeman (Kenda-Felt MTB)
Georgia Gould (Luna Pro Team)
Heather Irmiger (Subaru-Trek)
Mary McConneloug ( Kenda/Seven/NoTubes)
Krista Park (Cannondale-No Tubes)

U23 men cross country
Stephen Ettinger (BMC MTB Development)
Russell Finsterwald (Subaru-Trek)
Jack Hinkens (BMC MTB Development)
Kerry Werner (BMC MTB Development)

U23 women cross country
Jill Behlen (University of Wyoming)
Kaila Hart (Fort Lewis College)

Junior men cross country
Richard Cypress Gorry (AZ Devo)
Howard Grotts (Durango Devo)
Keegan Swenson (Whole Athlete-Specialized)
Casey Williams

Junior women cross country
Grace Alexander (BYRDS)
Alicia Rose Pastore (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory DEVO Sweet Elite)

Elite men downhill
Logan Binggeli (KHS Bicycles)
Aaron Gwin (Trek)
Curtis Keene
Duncan Riffle (Giant MTB Team)
Mitch Ropelato (SPS North America)
Luke Strobel (MS Evil)
Cody Warren (DRD X-Fusion Intense)

Elite women downhill
Jacqueline Harmony (All Mountain Cyclery-Vixen Racing)
Jill Kintner (RedBull-Transition Racing)
Joanna Petterson

Junior men downhill
Nate Furbee
Austin Hackett Klaube
Kiran MacKinnon
Neko Mulally (Trek)
Trevor Trinkino (Yeti RPM)
Austin Warren (DRD X-Fusion Intense)
Christian Wright (Team Spincycle)

Junior women downhill
Lauren Daney (Specialized-GROM Racing)

Elite men four cross
Blake Carney
Lear Miller
Erik Nelson

Elite women four cross
Melissa Buhl (KHS Bicycles)
Joanna Petterson
Neven Steinmetz (Ellsworth-Smile Generation)

Trials Rider
Ryder Okumura (Durango Devo)

Related Articles

Back to top