Mt. Holly-Smithville Invitational GP offers $10,000

The 8th edition of the Mt. Holly-Smithville Invitational Grand Prix will be held in Burlington...

The 8th edition of the Mt. Holly-Smithville Invitational Grand Prix will be held in Burlington County, New Jersey, USA on July 22. The 92 mile (148 km) circuit race consists of seven laps of a 12 mile circuit through Mt. Holly and the surrounding towns of Easthampton, Westhampton and Springfield followed by three 2.5 mile loops through Mt. Holly's residential and downtown business district.

This year's event is open to UCI professional trade teams and a selection of elite amateur teams, who will compete for a $10,000 purse. UCI pro and continental teams that have already confirmed their participation include:

Navigators Insurance
Priority Health

"Because this event is in our sponsor's backyard, we are making this a highly important goal for the team's 2nd half of the season," said Ken Mills, director sportif of the Targetraining pro cycling team. "There has only been one professional team that has been able to crack the hold of the elite amateurs on this course and we're planning on being the team that wrestles that winner's trophy away from them. There has yet to be field sprint at this event and we've got plenty of riders that love being in a small breakaway at the end of the race."

Proceeds from this event benefit the H.B. Smith Industrial Village Conservancy, a non-profit volunteer organization dedicated to improvements, restoration and programs in Burlington County's historic Smithville Park. The conservation programs and projects focus on making Smithville a family destination, where residents can indulge in recreational activities, in arts and music oriented programs, and in events that highlight the park's historic past and its role in the industrial revolution.

Teams wishing to be considered for participation can submit an application via the web at: . The team application/selection process will end on July 3 and selected teams for the 2006 edition will be announced on July 7. The 2006 edition will see 27 pro and elite amateur teams invited with 6 riders per team. For additional information, email

Back to top