Gallery: Riders recon Giro d'Italia stage 1 time trial route

Italian Grand Tour begins tomorrow in Herning, Denmark

The 2012 Giro d'Italia kicks off on Saturday with a three-day stint in Herning, Denmark, beginning with the 8.7km opening stage individual time trial.

Today the 198 starters of the Italian Grand Tour familiarised themselves with the time trial parcours, in search of the best lines throughout the route in hopes of saving critical time in the race of truth.

Jackson Rodriguez (Androni-Giocattoli) will be the first rider out of the start house at 3:40pm local time, with 2011 Giro champion Michele Scarponi (Lampre-ISD) the final rider to start at 7:19pm.

Following Rodriguez, the Giro riders will continue to start at one-minute intervals until the final 22 riders, who will have a two-minute gap between starts.

Some notable riders and their start times include Jack Bobridge (Garmin-Barracuda, 4:33pm; Roman Kreuziger (Astana), 4:54pm; Daniele Bennati (RadioShack-Nissan), 5:46pm; Mark Cavendish (Sky), 5:55pm; Marco Pinotti (BMC), 5:57pm; Damiano Cunego (Lampre-ISD), 6:35pm; Jose Rujano (Androni-Giocatolli), 6:37pm; Geraint Thomas (Sky), 6:43pm; Taylor Phinney (BMC), 6:47pm; Gustav Erik Larsson (Vacansoleil-DCM), 6:57pm; Alex Rasmussen (Garmin-Barracuda), 7:01pm; Joaquim Rodriguez (Katusha), 7:07pm; Frank Schleck (RadioShack-Nissan), 7:09pm; Ivan Basso (Liquigas-Cannondale), 7:13pm; and Michele Scarponi (Lampre-ISD), 7:19pm.

Related Articles

Back to top