Skip to main content

Volta ao Algarve em Bicicleta 2017

Latest News from the Race

2017 Volta ao Algarve em Bicicleta overview

Final 2017 Volta ao Algarve em Bicicleta General Classification

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Primoz Roglic (Slo) Team LottoNl-Jumbo14:34:20
2Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky0:00:22
3Jonathan Castroviejo (Spa) Movistar Team0:00:36
4Tony Gallopin (Fra) Lotto Soudal0:00:55
5Luis León Sanchez (Spa) Astana Pro Team0:00:59
6Daniel Martin (Irl) Quick-Step Floors0:01:31
7Tony Martin (Ger) Katusha-Alpecin0:01:40
8Tiesj Benoot (Bel) Lotto Soudal0:01:49
9Amaro Antunes (Por) W52/FC Porto0:01:54
10Rinaldo Nocentini (Ita) Sporting / Tavira0:01:56


The 2017 Volta ao Algarve em Bicicleta offers something for everybody on a classic route that features the traditional denouement atop the Alto do Malhao. The winner of the past two editions, Geraint Thomas (Sky), is likely to miss this year’s event as he follows a different programme ahead of the Giro d’Italia, but two other recent winners, Tony Martin (Katusha) and Michal Kwiatkowski (Sky) will be among those vying for overall honours.

Martin will be looking to make an impression after switching to Katusha during the off-season, while Kwiatkowski will enjoy an opportunity to lead as he builds towards the Classics. Rafal Majka will hope to impress on the Malhao in the colours of new team Bora-Hansgrohe, while Dan Martin (QuickStep-Floors) should also figure, having started his campaign solidly at the recent Volta a la Comunitat Valenciana.

Edvald Boasson Hagen (Dimension Date), Lars Boom (LottoNL-Jumbo), Sep Vanmarcke (Cannondale-Drapac), John Degenkolb (Trek-Segafredo), Arnaud Démare (FDJ) and Tiesj Benoot (Lotto-Soudal) are among the Classics contenders in action, while the list of sprinters is expected to include Mark Cavendish (Dimension Data) and André Greipel (Lotto Soudal).

The opening stage to Lagos is expected to suit the sprinters, before the puncheurs and GC contenders take centre stage on the following day’s summit finish at the Alto da Foia. Stage 3 is an 18km individual time trial in Sagres, while the sprinters should have another opportunity on the penultimate leg. The grand finale will, as ever, come on the Malhao, where Alberto Contador took stage honours a year ago.


Top News on the Race

Related Features