Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio 2016

Latest News from the Race

2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio overview


2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda start list


World champion Lizzie Armitstead took back-to-back victories at Trofeo Alfreo Binda as she soloed to victory in Cittiglio. The defending champion launched a late-race attack meant to set teammate Megan Guarnier up for a victory. But Armitstead’s powerful attack turned into the race-winning move. Guarnier won the chase group sprint for second. Jolanda Neff (Servetto Footon), who had led the race over the final time up the Orino, rounded out the podium.


The 2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio offered the women's peloton one of the hilliest one-day races on the inaugural Women's WorldTour. The 123.3km race began and end in the small Italian town of Cittiglio. The women took on steep climbs over Cunardo and Orino before finishing back in Cittiglio.


The 2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio has been a part of the former Women's World Cup, a ten event series that has been replaced by the new Women's WorldTour. The Italian event is the third race of the new series after Strade Bianche held in Italy on March 5 and Ronde van Drenthe held in the Netherlands on March 12.


Lizzie Armitstead returned to the race to defend her title, hoping that the illness that forced her to abandon the previous Ronde van Drenthe, was gone. She had the assistance of Ronde van Drenthe winner Chantaal Blaak and former podium finisher Ellen van Dijk. 


Rabo Liv started Anna van der Breggen and Pauline Ferrand Prevot. 2013 winner Elisa Longo Borghini was unable to ride for Wiggle-High5 but they started another past winner in Emma Johansson to lead the team. 


2016 Trofeo Alfredo Binda-Comune di Cittiglio2015 Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio | 2014 Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio | 2013 Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Comune di Cittiglio



Trofeo Alfredo Binda - Cittiglio - Top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Elizabeth Armitstead (GBr) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team3:11:10
2Megan Guarnier (USA) Boels Dolmans Cycling Team0:00:01
3Jolanda Neff (Swi) Servetto Footon0:00:04
4Emma Johansson (Swe) Wiggle High5Row 3 - Cell 2
5Alena Amialiusik (Blr) Canyon-SRAMRow 4 - Cell 2
6Anna Van Der Breggen (Ned) Rabo Liv Women Cycling TeamRow 5 - Cell 2
7Katarzyna Niewiadoma (Pol) Rabo Liv Women Cycling Team0:00:11
8Annemiek Van Vleuten (Ned) Orica-AIS0:00:39
9Lauren Kitchen (Aus) Hitec Products0:01:06
10Giorgia Bronzini (Ita) Wiggle High5Row 9 - Cell 2

Top News on the Race

Related Features