Tour of California 2019

Latest News from the Race

Bol wins final stage as Pogacar takes overall classification at 2019 Tour of California

UAE Team Emirates' Tadej Pogacar tied up the overall win at the 2019 Tour of California, getting through the final stage from Santa Clarita to Pasadena unscathed, having taken the race lead the previous day on Mount Baldy.

Stage 7 was won by Team Sunweb's Cees Bol, who outsprinted Peter Sagan (Bora-Hansgrohe) and Pogacar's UAE Team Emirates teammate Jasper Philipsen, topping off a tough week of racing that saw Dimension Data's Mark Cavendish retire from the race on the final stage.

Twenty-year-old Pogacar's overall win by 16 seconds over EF Education First's Sergio Higuita – with Deceuninck-QuickStep's Kasper Asgreen only a single second further back in third – was never truly in doubt, although Bora-Hansgrohe's Max Schachmann, who started the day 11th overall, 1:28 down on Pogacar, featured in the day's early breakaway, and at one point held the virtual race lead, and was later joined up front by Asgreen, who was a true danger man for Pogacar.

However, the race came back together in the final 10km, and the only real question then was who was going to win the bunch sprint, with Dutchman Bol coming out on top.

Pogacar, meanwhile, could celebrate the biggest win of his short career so far, while 21-year-old Colombian climber Higuita was arguably even more impressive in what was only his first WorldTour event, having only joined EF Ecucation First from Continental team Euskadi ahead of the race.

Third-placed Asgreen – just 24 – also continued his rapid rise in what is only the Dane's first full season in the WorldTour with Deceuninck-QuickStep, having joined the Belgian team in April last year.

Top 10

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Cees Bol (Ned) Team Sunweb2:53:16
2Peter Sagan (Svk) Bora-Hansgrohe
3Jasper Philipsen (Bel) UAE Team Emirates
4Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain-Merida
5Maximiliano Richeze (Arg) Deceuninck-QuickStep
6Kristoffer Halvorsen (Nor) Team Ineos
7Travis McCabe (USA) USA National Team
8Andrea Peron (Ita) Team Novo Nordisk
9Jens Debusschere (Bel) Katusha-Alpecin
10Edwin Avila (Col) Israel Cycling Academy
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Final general classification
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates32:55:12
2Sergio Andres Higuita (Col) EF Education First0:00:16
3Kasper Asgreen (Den) Deceuninck-QuickStep0:00:17
4George Bennett (NZl) Team Jumbo-Visma0:00:29
5Richie Porte (Aus) Trek-Segafredo0:00:41
6Simon Spilak (Slo) Katusha-Alpecin0:01:03
7Jesper Hansen (Den) Cofidis, Solutions Credits0:01:18
8Felix Großschartner (Aut) Bora-Hansgrohe
9Tejay Van Garderen (USA) EF Education First0:01:22
10Maximilian Schachmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:01:23

Top News on the Race

Related Features