Tour de Pologne 2019

Latest News from the Race

Tour de Pologne 2019 - Overview

The 79th edition of the Tour de Pologne kicks off on August 3 in Kraków and will conclude on August 9 in Bukowina Tatrzańska. The seven-day race is part of the men's WorldTour.

The first two stages that finish in Krakow on August 3 and Katowice on August 4 are dedicated to the sprinters. The third stage is also relatively flat, with just one ascent near the finish in Zabrze.

The climbing starts on the fourth stage, along with the battle for the GC, where the peloton will face four categorised climbs before contesting an uphill finish in Kocierz. It is a steep wall, about 1km long with gradients of more than 20 per cent.

The fifth stage is suited to the puncheurs and the sprinters. There are three categorised climbs but a relatively flat finish in Bielsko-Biala. 

The penultimate stage 6 will be tough with seven climbs, the final climb located just four kilometres from the finish line in Zakopane. 

The race will end on stage 7 with a challenging circuit and one last climb to the finish line at Bukowina Tatrzanska.

Last year, Michal Kwiatkowski (Team Sky) won the overall title ahead of Simon Yates (Mitchelton-Scott) and Thibaut Pinot (FDJ).

After the Tour de France, Kwiatkowski announced that he will not be attending the race this year, saying that he needed time to recover. Simon Yates will join his Mitchelton-Scott team at the overlapping Clasica Ciclista San Sebastian and Pinot is recovering from an injury, leaving the race wide-open for a new champion.


2019 Tour de Pologne

Stage 1: August 3 - Kraków to Kraków, 136km

Stage 2: August 4 - Tarnowskie Góry to Katowice, 153km

Stage 3: August 5 - Chorzów to Zabrze, 157km

Stage 4: August 6 - Jaworzno to Kocierz, 173km

Stage 5: August 7 - Kopalnia Soli Wieliczka to Bielsko-Biala, 154km

Stage 6: August 8 - Zakopane to Zakopane, 155km

Stage 7: August 9 -  Bukovina Resort to Bukowina Tatrzanska, 132.5km


2018 Tour de Pologne - top 10 Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Michal Kwiatkowski (Pol) Team Sky24:23:54
2Simon Yates (GBr) Mitchelton-Scott0:00:15
3Thibaut Pinot (Fra) Groupama-FDJ0:00:20
4George Bennett (NZl) LottoNL-Jumbo0:00:24
5Dylan Teuns (Bel) BMC Racing Team0:00:27
6Georg Preidler (Aut) Groupama-FDJ0:00:31
7Emanuel Buchmann (Ger) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:32
8Davide Formolo (Ita) Bora-Hansgrohe0:00:40
9Sam Oomen (Ned) Team Sunweb0:00:42
10Fabio Aru (Ita) UAE Team Emirates0:00:44

Top News on the Race

Related Features