Townsend wins day 2 of Cycle-Smart International

Jerome Townsend (Joe's Garage CX p/b won the second day of racing in the Cycle Smart International in Northampton, topping Jeremy Durrin (Neon Velo) and Dan Timmerman  (House Industries).

Day 1 winner Stephen Hyde (Jam Fund/NCC) and Timmerman took advantage of a smooth ride through the pro section in the first lap to slip away from the field, and kept a 20 second gap on the chasers Durrin and Townsend, but their lead fell to just 12 seconds at the start of the final lap.

They were caught by Durrin and Timmerman and the group of four came through the barriers together, after which Durrin attacked. Only Townsend could respond as the early attackers faded from the front of the race.

Townsend came around Durrin before the pavement to sprint clear for his first UCI cyclocross victory, with Durrin in second, Timmerman in third, and Hyde in fourth. Timmerman managed to hold onto his lead in the Verge New England Cyclocross Series. Hugo Robinson (Team Neon Velo) rounded out his team's successful weekend by claiming the U23 race win, and with it overtaking the lead in the Series U23 Elite Men's competition.

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Jerome Townsend (USA) Joe's Garage CX p/b BikeReg.com1:02:53
2Jeremy Durrin (USA) Neon Velo Cycling Team0:00:03
4Stephen Hyde (USA) JAM Fund / NCC0:00:23
5Christian Favata (USA) TRT BICYCLES0:00:51
6Anthony Clark (USA) JAM Fund / NCCRow 5 - Cell 2
7Michael Garrigan (Can) Van Dessel/ Challenge/ POC0:01:10
8Adam Craig (USA) Giant Factory Off-Road Team0:01:12
9Jake Wells (USA) Stan's NoTubes Elite CX0:01:13
10Dylan Mcnicholas (USA) POLARTEC0:01:22
11Hugo Robinson (GBr) Neon Velo0:02:09
12Adam Myerson (USA) Cycle-Smart0:02:28
13Derrick St john (Can) St. Andrews, Ontario0:02:58
15Joachim Parbo (Den) Challenge Tires0:03:25
16Kevin Noiles (Can) Voler/Steven's Creek B.M.W./HRS/Roc0:03:26
17Adam St. germain (USA) ENGVT - Specialized0:04:14
18Josh Dillon (USA) Joe's Garage CX p/b BikeReg.com0:04:36
19Kyle Murphy (USA) Murphy Brothers CyclocrossRow 18 - Cell 2
20Evan Murphy (USA) Murphy Brothers Cyclocross0:04:48
21Joseph Clemenzi (USA) team POC+Ritte0:04:59
22Jack Kisseberth (USA) Tufts University0:05:13
23Charlie Schubert (USA) CUPPOW/Geekhouse/B2C20:05:20
24Michael Wissell (USA) Cuppow/Geekhouse/B2C20:05:24
25Tim Ratta (USA) Expo wheelmen0:05:31
26Cory Small (USA) UVM Cycling0:05:35
27Aaron Oakes (USA) NYCROSS p/b Craft0:05:42
28Scott Smith (USA) Jam Fund / NCC0:05:45
29Alec Hoover (USA) Table Rock Tours0:05:58
30Jean-philippe Thibault-roberge (Can) Trek Cyclocross Collective0:06:16
31Andrew Louiza (USA) Thump Cycling p/b Turin0:06:43
32Mark D'avino (USA) Toasted Head Racing/Cadence Cycling0:07:03
33Jonah Meadvancort (USA) KMSRow 32 - Cell 2
34Jules Goguely (USA) Rhode Island School of DesignRow 33 - Cell 2
35John Burns (USA) Burns Racing0:07:36
36John Eckert (USA) STAMPEDE0:07:45
38Jesse Keough (USA) Keough Cyclocross-1Lap
39William Johnson (USA) Deluxe/No.22/Cadence-1Lap
40Matthew Sousa (USA) Cuppow/Geekhouse/B2C2-1Lap
41Colin Reuter (USA)
42Kacey Campbell (USA) Hammer Nutrition-2Laps
43Ian Schon (USA) Cuppow/Geekhouse/B2C2-2Laps
44Ford Murphy (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco-2Laps
45Jesse Quagliaroli (USA) Expowheelmen-2Laps
46Joseph Near (USA) Massachusetts Institute of Technolo-2Laps
47Devin Wagner (USA) NYCROSS p/b Craft-2Laps
48Preston Buehrer (USA) B2C2 p/b Boloco-3Laps
49Christopher Merola (USA) Laughing Dog-3Laps
50David Devine (USA) unattached-3Laps
51Sam Veggeberg (USA) University of Massachusetts - Amher-3Laps
52Cary Fridrich (USA) JRA CYCLES-4Laps
53Wil Etherington (USA) VERGE SPORT / UNOVELO-4Laps
54AJ Moran (Can) GREEN LINE VELO driven by Zipcar-6Laps
DNFCody Lacosta (USA) High Gear cyclery/ TrekRow 53 - Cell 2
DNFNicholas Keough Keough CyclocrossRow 54 - Cell 2
DNFErik Box IndependentRow 55 - Cell 2
DNFPeter Goguen RACE CF | @racecfRow 56 - Cell 2
DNFAdam Sullivan Grinta Cycling TeamRow 57 - Cell 2


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1