Chun Tan grabs national title with fourth

The Singapore National Mountain Bike Championship returned to the Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, with a new extended race course of 7km featuring longish singletrack, technical sections and fire trails.

Hong Chun Tan took his second Singapore cross country mountain biking crown after a five years break. The elite men’s race, contested under wet and muddy conditions, showed the depth of CannAsia-Cannondale team, which took a clean sweep of the top three positions with foreign riders Tim Wilkins, Shahrom Abdullah and Fraser Morrison, while THC Racing’s Tan rode to a strong fourth place finish and the national title.

Bernice Chen (L&T Cycle) and Lynda Scott (Hammer/Carmichael/Maverick) were the only two finishers in the open women’s race. Scott took control of the race at the technical section, leaving Chen and Priscilla Chen to fight out for the national title. Priscilla was forced to withdraw from the race after a strong first lap with respiratory problems, allowing Bernice to cruise to win the national champion title.

Defending champion Joshua Png retained his crown with a strong ride, piping Daniel Koh to the line with a strong and calculated ride in the last 50 metres. The pair raced neck-and-neck for the entire race, gaining almost five minutes over the chasing group of Ivan Tay (Team Conticomponents) and Ryan Chan (PICO-BikeLabz).

Thing were a lot clearer for the masters race with Richard Sinclair (Cannasia-Cannondale) riding a commanding race out front and won the race with a six minute winning margin over the eventual national champion Alvin Lim (Eclipse Sports). Roslan bin Ahmad, the defending champion, couldn't match the blistering pace in the wet today, and finished in seventh.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
Elite men
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Tim Wilkins (GBr) Cannasia-Cannondale1:44:25
2Shahrom Abdullah (Mas) Malakoff Mona-Vie Canonodale C0:09:14
3Fraser Morrison (GBr)0:16:33
4Tan Hong Chun (Sin) Thc Racing0:16:55
5Tim Clarsen (Aus) Cannasia-Cannondale0:21:01
6Mohd Khaniz Omar (Sin) Swissvalley0:23:27
7Villalba Nody (Phi) Philmofo0:34:33
DNSWong Shew Mien (Mas) Chapter 2 CycleRow 7 - Cell 2
DNSMuhd Irwin Bin Salam (Sin)Row 8 - Cell 2
DNSCas Brentjens (Ned) Anza CyclingRow 9 - Cell 2
DNFRobert Hensby (Aus) Cannasia-CannondaleRow 10 - Cell 2
DNFJung Jens Oliver (Ger)Row 11 - Cell 2
DNFAlastair Cullen (Irl) AnzaRow 12 - Cell 2
DNFChad Giardina (USA)Row 13 - Cell 2
DNFTan Yeow Chung (Sin) Pico-BikelabzRow 14 - Cell 2
DNFErdem Ozgul (Sin) AnzaRow 15 - Cell 2
DNFAlex Lee (Sin) Loreal/Fuji BikesRow 16 - Cell 2
DNFFrankie Phang Ting Khoon (Mas)Row 17 - Cell 2
DNFAngelito Paca (Sin) Crestpursuit - PhilmofoRow 18 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
Open women
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Lynda Scott (Aus) Hammer/Carmichael/Maverick1:57:22
2Yandi Bernice Chen (Sin) L & T0:12:35
DNFPriscilla Chen (Sin)Row 2 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joshua Png Zhi Jie (Sin)1:31:40
2Koh Jun Jie Daniel (Sin)0:00:14
3Ivan Tay Chin Seng (Sin) Team Conticomponents0:07:00
4Ryan Chan (Sin) Pico-Bikelabz0:07:06
5Matthias Yong Zhan Ang (Sin)0:07:37
DNSTan En Yao (Sin) River Valley High SchoolRow 5 - Cell 2
Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Richard Sinclair (Aus) Cannasia Mona Vie Cannondale A1:25:02
2Alvin Lim (Sin) Eclipse Sport0:06:03
3Lorenzo Francia Salonga (Phi) Team Conticomponents0:13:20
4Ng Kim Kwee (Sin)0:13:50
5Richard Burrell Paine (Aus)0:14:44
6Morten Hansen (Den) Team Singapore Five-O0:17:06
7Roslan Bin Ahmad (Sin) Team Vertical0:19:12
8Craig Harvey Sheppard (NZl) Cannasia0:20:20
9Andrew R Bell (Aus) Anza0:21:40
10Michael David Linke (Aus) Team Absolut0:25:49
11Victor Young (GBr) Team Maverick0:26:15
12Lee Yung Ming (Sin)0:27:06
13Henry Ong (Sin) Abc0:39:53
14Arnel Gonzales Gonong (Phi) Padyak Pinoy@Sg1:01:18
DNSLoh Ching Soo (Mas) Five-0Row 14 - Cell 2
DNSAdli Bin Md Dahalan (Mas) Peloton2KRow 15 - Cell 2
DNFMuhd YusoffRow 16 - Cell 2
DNFAlan Stewart Gordon (GBr) AnzaRow 17 - Cell 2
DNFMasayoshi Yamamoto (Jpn)Row 18 - Cell 2
DNFMohamed Norsuhaimee (Sin) Team Cycle CraftRow 19 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews