Kittel wins Saitama Criterium

Marcel Kittel (Giant-Shimano) won the second edition of the Saitama Criterium by Tour de France, beating Peter Sagan (Cannondale) and Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) in a small group finish.

The closing stages of the criterium featured the obligatory attack from Vincenzo Nibali, who wore the yellow jersey of Tour de France winner. When he was pegged back in the finishing straight, the top sprinters from this year’s Grande Boucle came to the fore, with Kittel overhauling Kristoff within sight of the line to claim the win.

In the second running of the Japanese event, the stars of July again attracted enormous crowds to the roadside in the centre of Saitama for an event billed by ASO as the 22nd stage of the Tour de France.

The Saitama event marries the Japanese keirin tradition to the Tour de France and thus before the main criterium, the field was broken into groups for two separate points races. The first race saw Chris Froome (Sky) among those sprinting for points but it was won by Nicolas Roche (Tinkoff-Saxo) ahead of Alexander Kristoff (Katusha).

"It's nice to finish the season like that, because it's my last race in a Saxo-Tinkoff jersey. It's also a little bit like winning a stage of the Tour: I get the same music on the podium,” Roche said.

The spoils in the second points race fell to Arnaud Démare (, who saw off the challenges of Gatis Smukulis (Katusha) and Nibali.

Not surprisingly, the concluding event, the 60km criterium, saw Tour polka dot jersey Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo) and Nibali among the attackers, as well as local favourites Yukiya Arashiro (Europcar) and Fumiyuku Beppu (Trek Factory Racing).

Arashiro and Beppu led into the final lap, but where swept up by the main contenders. Nibali put in a crowd-pleasing effort in the finale before Kittel claimed the sprint.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Marcel Kittel (Ger) Team Giant-Shimano1:24:39
2Peter Sagan (Slo) CannondaleRow 1 - Cell 2
3Alexander Kristoff (Nor) Katusha TeamRow 2 - Cell 2
4Arnaud Demare (Fra) FDJ.frRow 3 - Cell 2
5Yukiya Arashiro (Jpn) Tour De France Japan TeamRow 4 - Cell 2
6Romain Bardet (Fra) Ag2r La MondialeRow 5 - Cell 2
7Valerio Agnoli (Ita) Astana Pro Team0:00:02
8Koen de Kort (Ned) Team Giant-Shimano0:00:05
9Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro TeamRow 8 - Cell 2
10Fumiyuki Beppu (Jpn) Tour De France Japan Team0:00:10


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews