Skip to main content

Hoskins wins again for Honda Dream Team

The Honda Dream Team continued its brilliant form, taking four from four races in the Honda Insight Women’s International GP Series, with Melissa Hoskins crossing the line first in Coogee. Liz Georgouras claimed second in today’s race and Trudy Van Der Satraaten took third.

“We’ve got four from four now, I don’t think you could ask for a better result. Today we tried something different, it wasn’t as much of a sprint finish. I made a move, got the break and came off with good legs,” she said.

Honda Dream Team leader, Rochelle Gilmore said she was proud of the team effort which resulted in Hoskins’ win.

“Mel and the team put in a fantastic effort. We have the strength to change our plan from day to day. Everybody expected us to race for me for a sprint today, and that’s why we manage to do so well now, because every member of the team is capable of winning.”

“Mel said this morning she felt really good and she felt really good yesterday, we thought she had the ability to win from the break so we got her out there and she finished it off,” Gilmore said.

After the fourth round of the Honda Insight Women’s International GP Series, Peta Mullens leads with 27 points, followed by Rochelle Gilmore on 24 points and Emily Collins on 22 points. The series is due to conclude with a race in Cronulla on Sunday and Gilmore said she and the Honda Dream Team are looking forward to the final race.

“I feel really good after a rest today, fresh and ready for tomorrow. I wouldn’t say the race is mine tomorrow, but I think it will go to a member of the Honda Dream Team.”

Brief results
1Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Honda Dream Team12pts
2Liz Georgouras (Aus) Virgin Blue10
3Trudy Van Der Straaten (Aus) Bicisport8
4Sue Forsyth (Aus) North Sydney7
5Nikolina Orlic (Aus) Bellavello6
6Tiffany Pezzulo (USA) Vanderkitten5
7Laura Luxford (Aus) Virgin Blue4
8Emily Collins (Nzl) Cyclesport3
9Kate Chilcott (Nzl) North Harbour2
10Jospehine Tomic (Aus) Honda Dream Team1

Honda Insight Women's Grand Prix overall leader
1Peta Mullens (Aus) Honda Dream Team27pts
2Rochelle Gilmore (Aus) Honda Dream Team24
3Emily Collins (Nzl) Cyclesport22
42 Evgenia Romanuta (Rus) Russia20
5Trudy Van Der Straaten (Aus) Bicisport18
6Melissa Hoskins (Aus) Honda Dream Team17
7Kate Chilcott (Nzl) North Harbour16
8Sue Forsyth (Aus) North Sydney13
9Tiffany Pezzulo (USA) Vanderkitten12
10Liz Georgouras (Aus) Virgin Blue10


Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Stephen Farrand

Stephen is the most experienced member of the Cyclingnews team, having reported on professional cycling since 1994. He has held the position of European editor since 2012 and previously worked for Reuters, Shift Active Media, and Cycling Weekly, among other publications.

Latest on Cyclingnews