Skip to main content

Walker makes pass to take four cross title

The eliminator-style, four-up event took place on the Signal Hill course first utilised for the 2010 Oceania Championships 12 months ago. A great mix of elite and junior riders raced each other in the open men's race - with a final heat stacked with four riders capable of claiming the sought after four cross national championship title.

Number 1, 2, 3 and 5 seeds progressed through to the final round, with fastest qualifier Daniel Franks getting the all important jump out of the gate and to the first corner. However, Franks left an inside line barely open, and it was enough for Mat Walker to make a pass that stuck right through to the finish line and the title. Reon Boe and Rupert Chapman tussled for the third spot, with Boe doing enough to claim the third place.

The small open women's field put on a fantastic display of competitive four cross racing. Fastest qualifier Veronique Sandler and Sophie Tyas were even right through the top two thirds of the race - with the lead changing several times as both juniors tried to break away from each other. Wellington's Sarah Atkin was ready to pounce at the slightest opportunity, but it was Sandler who held her nerve to claim the women's title.

Full Results

#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Matt Walker
2Daniel Franks
3Reon Boe
4Rupert Chapman
5George Brannigan
6Jake Robinson
7Sam Baker
8Stefan Gardner
9Daniel Heads
10Braid McRae
11Mike Reader
12Dan McCombie
13Dave du Plessis
14Adrian Loo
15Robert Havill
16Corey Prutton
17Scott Taylor
18Brandon Ransfield

#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Veronique Sandler
2Sophie Tyas
3Sarah Atkin
Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews