Skip to main content

Beerten bombs to four cross gold

Image 1 of 2

Anneke Beerten on her way to the win in Austria

Anneke Beerten on her way to the win in Austria (Image credit: Tour of Japan)
Image 2 of 2

Women's podium: Mio Suemasa, Katy Curd, Anneke Beerten, Anita Molcik, Romana Labounkova

Women's podium: Mio Suemasa, Katy Curd, Anneke Beerten, Anita Molcik, Romana Labounkova (Image credit: Tour of Japan)

World Cup champion Anneke Beerten (Suspension Centre) confirmed her four cross World Cup title on the Planai ski slope in Schladming, Austria, on Saturday night.

Unlike the men's series, there were still three riders in contention for the overall win – Beerten, Fionn Griffiths (Norco) and American Jill Kintner. However, Griffiths crashed the day before at qualifying and could not race while Kintner crashed in her first round heat and did not finish. Therefore, Beerten won her third consecutive title without even racing.

Despite that, the women's race saw its own action, with Beerten only scrapping through the semi-final round in second place after a serious challenge from the Czech rider Romana Labounkova. In the final, up against Austrian favourite Anita Molcik (Yeti Fox Shox), British newcomer Katy Curd and Japan's Mio Suemasa, Beerten left nothing to chance, grabbing the hole shot and riding it to her third win of the season.

Griffiths and Kintner were tied for points and number of wins at two apiece, but Griffiths took second in the final overall standings by virtue of two second places (Kintner had none). An absent Melissa Buhl finished fourth.

"This is my third title in a row, and it probably means the most," said Beerten. "This year, everyone was here, everyone was racing, so it was the biggest challenge to win. After [Fionn Griffiths] crashed, everyone was congratulating me, but I had to keep telling myself, 'remain focussed'. I still wanted to win, and Labounkova gave me a pretty hard time in the semi-final."


Big Final
#Rider Name (Country) Team
1Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center
2Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Racing Team
3Katy Curd (GBr)
4Mio Suemasa (Jpn)

Small Final
#Rider Name (Country) Team
5Romana Labounkova (Cze)
6Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center
7Rachel Seydoux (Swi)
8Lucia Oetjen (Swi)

1/4 Finals
#Rider Name (Country) Team
9Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)
10Eva Castro Fernandez (Spa)
11Tereza Votavova (Cze)
12Neven Steinmetz (USA)
13Laura Brethauer (Ger)
14Stephanie Teltscher (Ger)
15Neza Knez (Slo)
DNFJill Kintner (USA)

#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team70pts
2Suspension Center50
3Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team50
4Team Sunn35
5Animal Commencal22
6MS Evil Racing18
7Rocky Mountain UK16
8Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team9

Elite women final World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Anneke Beerten (Ned) Suspension Center580pts
2Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team400
3Jill Kintner (USA)400
4Melissa Buhl (USA)235
5Jana Horakova (Cze)205
6Caroline Buchanan (Aus)185
7Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team125
8Romana Labounkova (Cze)120
9Emmeline Ragot (Fra) Suspension Center110
10Joanna Petterson (RSA)90
11Mio Suemasa (Jpn)60
12Katy Curd (GBr)50
13Sarsha Huntington (Aus)30
14Rachel Seydoux (Swi)15
15Lucia Oetjen (Swi)15
16Eva Castro Fernandez (Spa)10
17Diana Marggraff (Ecu)5
18Helene Valerie Fruhwirth (Aut)5

Team final World Cup standings
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Yeti Fox Shox Factory Race Team305pts
2Suspension Center300
3Team Sunn182
4Ghost A.T.G. Pro Team176
5GT Bicycles174
6Animal Commencal168
7Norco World Team165
8Specialized Factory Racing109
9Rocky Mountain UK72
10MS Evil Racing71
11Chain Reaction Cycles/Intense67
12Ancillotti Doganaccia Racing Team18
13Kenda Morewood9

Latest on Cyclingnews