Chris Blevins takes out Boston Rebellion

Nineteen year-old Chris Blevins (Specialized) battled Australian Champion Dan McConnell (DanAndBec) for six laps to take the win on Adams Farm and assume the lead in the Pro-XCT Series. Former World Cup winner McConnell had to settle for second place as he cramped in the final rock garden. Sany Floren finished in third place, just two seconds behind McConnell.

With fifty-five starters from several different countries riding on the relatively flat course at Adams Farm, it was difficult for anyone to get away from the peloton. But somewhere on lap two, Blevins and McConnell got a gap and then set a pace that nobody could match. Blevins seemed to have a slight advantage on the small, punchy climbs, while McConnell was slightly stronger on the flats.

Blevins commented on is race with McConnell, "It was an absolute honor to be able to battle with him. I had to kind of check myself to realize whom I was racing against. The past two weekends in Vermont, and at Nationals (at Snowshoe Mountain), were like mental battles to keep yourself flowing through the roots and the trees. And today there was a lot of that."

Blevins added, "I think he (McConnell) cramped on the last rocky section and after that I kind of surged ahead, but it was a good battle."

McConnell explained what happened at the finish, "I didn't have the legs to back myself in a sprint so I just went for it during the last rock garden, trying to get a gap because I knew I was fairly strong through there the last few laps. But, I just went off-line and my leg locked up pretty bad, so I had to just coast it in to the finish."

The Pro Men will compete in Short Track Racing on Sunday at Adams Farm. 

Full Results

Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Christopher Blevins (USA) Specialized1:32:46
2Daniel McConnell (Aus) DanAndBec0:00:52
3Sandy Floren (USA)0:00:54
4Cameron Ivory (Aus) Bear Development Team0:01:07
5Luke Vrouwenvelder (USA)0:01:10
6Jonathan Josue Quesada Castillo (CRc) Bear Development Team0:01:16
7Cole House (USA)0:02:40
8Jerry Dufour (USA)0:02:42
9Nicholas Beechan (USA) Bear Development Team0:02:59
10Carson Beckett (USA)0:03:06
11Richard Cypress Gorry (USA) Bear Development Team0:03:08
12Ryan Woodall (USA)0:03:33
13Alex Meucci (USA)0:04:03
14Marc Andre Fortier (Can)0:04:19
15Alexandre Vialle (Can) Pivot Cycles - OTE0:04:22
16Sven Strähle (Ger)0:04:29
17Emile Farrell-Dessureault (Can) German Technology Racing0:04:39
18Daniel Johnson (USA)0:04:40
19Jason Blodgett (USA) Bear Development Team0:05:27
20Callum Carson (Aus)0:06:03
21Stephan Davoust (USA)0:06:05
22Carson Lange (USA)0:06:06
23Christopher Hamlin (USA)0:06:55
24Jeremy Powers (USA)0:07:02
25Samuel Elson (USA)0:07:06
26Peter Karinen (USA)Row 25 - Cell 2
27Garrett Gerchar (USA)0:07:07
28Bryan Horsley (USA)0:07:16
29Noah Tautfest (USA)0:07:17
30Lucas Rowton (USA)0:08:30
31Adam Bucklin (USA)0:08:35
32Jacob Sacket (USA)0:09:00
33Nathan Barton (USA)0:09:06
34Steffen Andersen (USA)0:09:27
35Matthew O'Keefe (USA)0:09:33
36Nicholas Lando (USA)0:09:39
37Sebastian Alejandro Miranda Maldonado (Chi)0:09:48
38Carlos Herrera Arroyo (CRc)0:09:51
39Neal Burton (USA)0:10:30
40Samuel Hedlund (USA)0:11:18
41Christopher Ziegler (USA)0:11:36
42Diego Alonso Solano Guillen (CRc)0:11:57
43Jack Kisseberth (USA)0:12:13
44Cody Schwartz (USA)0:13:34
45Zackary Ghalayini (USA)0:13:35
46Greg Jancaitis (USA)0:13:36
47Jakob Hartmann (Ger)0:14:22
48Matthew Green (USA) German Technology Racing0:05:06
49Andrey Fonseca Ureña (CRc)0:13:38
50Noah Flaxman (USA)0:13:39
51Alex Wild (USA)0:13:40
DNFRaphael Auclair (Can)Row 51 - Cell 2
DNFMatthew Clements (USA) Pivot Cycles - OTERow 52 - Cell 2
DNFMike Jaworski (USA)Row 53 - Cell 2
DNSTrevor Deruise (USA)Row 54 - Cell 2
DNSKyle Ward (Aus)Row 55 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Latest on Cyclingnews