Adams grabs title in Antwerp

Joeri Adams (Rabo-Giant Offroad) stormed to victory in the Men’s U23 category at the Belgian national championships in Antwerp on Sunday afternoon. Adams won in sunny weather conditions ahead of Wietse Bosmans (BKCP-Powerplus) and Kevin Eeckhout. Defending champion Jim Aernouts finished off the podium in fourth place.

“Before the race I wasn't feeling well and I even had to throw up. It's been a meagre year, mostly due to bad luck but this makes up for a lot of that. Once Gianni Vermeersch wasn't able to keep up with me I knew it would be between me and Bosmans,” Adams said.

Favourite Bosmans took the initiative during the first half of the race but he wasn't able to shake off the other contenders. With three laps to go, Bosmans led the race together with Adams, while Eeckhout and Aernouts followed a bit further back. Then bad luck in the form of a flat tyre struck Adams. “I was pissed because I noticed it just after passing the pit area. I lost about 25 seconds but I didn't give up,” Adams said.

Wietse Bosmans flatted too but going into the last lap both Adams and Bosmans were part of the four-man leading group, together with Eeckhout and Aernouts. One of them would capture the Belgian tricolour jersey. Heading towards the sand pit Adams accelerated and the 21 year-old quickly gained half a minute on his rivals.

“In the sand I went flat out and it gave me a nice gap,” Adams said.

Adams eventually had time to enjoy his solo ride to the victory. When crossing the line he pointed to his rear tyre, indicating he managed to win despite his bad luck. It was the second national title for Adams, after capturing a first one in the Beginners category.

“I still rate my victory at the world championships of 2007 in Hooglede-Gits a bit higher, even though it was only in the Junior Men category,” Adams said. Adams turns professional at the Telenet-Fidea team from March 1.

Behind the winner the pace was set by Eeckhout and it proved to be too fast for Aernouts. In the sprint Bosmans easily captured second place ahead of Eeckhout. A few seconds later Aernouts rolled across the line in fourth place.

For Bosmans it was clear that Adams was a well-deserved winner. “Today he was simply stronger. The long stretches were in his advantage too, having a lot of experience on the road. When hitting the sand I was at my limit and I started making mistakes. The good thing for me is that I have two years left in this category so that should be enough to capture the title one of the next years,” Bosmans said.


Swipe to scroll horizontally
#Rider Name (Country) TeamResult
1Joeri Adams (Rabo Giant Offroad Team)0:47:53
2Wietse Bosmans (BKCP–Powerplus)0:00:12
3Kevin Eeckhout (Sunweb-Revor)0:00:15
4Jim Aernouts (Sunweb-Revor)0:00:32
5Vinnie Braet (Sunweb-Revor)0:01:00
6Matthias Bossuyt (Sunweb-Revor)0:01:04
7Gianni Vermeersch (BKCP–Powerplus)Row 6 - Cell 2
8Stef Boden (Sunweb-Revor)0:01:15
9Sven Beelen (Sunweb-Revor)0:01:17
10Jens Adams (BKCP–Powerplus)Row 9 - Cell 2
11Angelo De Clercq (Sunweb-Revor)0:02:16
12Kristof Cop (APB - Cycling Team)0:02:26
13Jelle Brackman (Van Der Vurst Cycling Team)0:02:32
14Floris De Tier (Cyclingchamps)Row 13 - Cell 2
15Tim Merlier (Sunweb-Revor)0:02:39
16Xandro Meurisse (Cyclingchamps)0:02:51
17Dany Lacroix (Velo Club de l'Espoir Condruzien)0:03:37
18Ingmar Uytdewilligen (WAC Team Hoboken (kon.) v.z.w)0:03:40
19Ritchie Denolf (Cyclingchamps)0:04:02
20Raf Risbourg (KDL Cyclingteam)0:04:09
21Niels Koyen (APB - Cycling Team)0:04:14
22Jonathan Bervoets (APB - Cycling Team)0:04:19
23Joeri Hofman (KDL Cyclingteam)0:04:53
24Stijn Mortelmans (Afdeling Antwerpen – WBV)0:05:00
25Jelle Cant (Van Goethem/prorace ct)0:05:13
26Hendrik Sweeck (KDL Cyclingteam)0:05:30
27Ruben Veestraeten (APB - Cycling Team)0:05:32
28Valentijn Van De Velde (Cyclingchamps)0:05:39
29Jeffrey Mellemans (Heylen Meubelcentrale zlwc St.Truiden)0:06:13
30Zico Waeytens (Omega Pharma-Lotto-Davo)0:06:19
31Robin Poelvoorde (Cyclingchamps)0:07:08
32Zeb Veestraeten (Sport en Steun – Leopoldsburg)0:07:16
33Kevin Neirynck (Kon. VC ´t Meetjesland – Knesselare)0:07:18
34Sonny Volders (APB - Cycling Team)0:07:32
35Kenny Maes (De Toekomstvrienden Baal)Row 34 - Cell 2
36Matthias Boetens (Cycling Team Fietsen Vandeputte)Row 35 - Cell 2
37Vincent Van Hooste (Asfra Racing Team)Row 36 - Cell 2
38Sieën Veestraeten (Sport en Steun – Leopoldsburg)Row 37 - Cell 2
39Rutger Lahaye (Hageland Cycling Team)Row 38 - Cell 2
40Simon Geets (APB - Cycling Team)Row 39 - Cell 2
41Kenneth Goossens (Cycling Team Pajot vzw)Row 40 - Cell 2
42Laurent Moulin (Lotto-Predictor-VC Ardennes)Row 41 - Cell 2
43Stijn Heyse (Mirmil Cycling Team)Row 42 - Cell 2
44Niels Dirikx (Sport en Steun – Leopoldsburg)Row 43 - Cell 2
45Klaas Vankersschaever (Kon. VC ´t Meetjesland – Knesselare)Row 44 - Cell 2
46Jens Six (Asfra Racing Team)Row 45 - Cell 2
47Joachim Janssens (Cyclocrossteam Freddy Sport Dilbeek)Row 46 - Cell 2
48Robin Delanghe (Pro Cycling Team VZW – Neerpelt)Row 47 - Cell 2
49Jonas Plasschaert (Cycling Team Pajot VZW)Row 48 - Cell 2
DNFJens Gys (Bianchi-Lotto-Nieuwe Hoop Tielen VZW)Row 49 - Cell 2
DNFKris Vermeir (Cycling Team Pajot VZW)Row 50 - Cell 2
DNSDennis Baeyens (Flemish Cycling Projects)Row 51 - Cell 2
DNSRobby Cobbaert (ASB Parein-Rogelli Cycling Team)Row 52 - Cell 2

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1