Skip to main content

Wiesenhof for Nürnberg

Ciolek wins in 2006

Ciolek wins in 2006 (Image credit: Florian Schaaf)

The upcoming Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt women's world cup will have the unique situation of the men's race featuring as a side attraction. The UCI 1.1 race is still important to the men's teams, but with the Vuelta a España and Tour of Poland ProTour races occurring simultaneously, it will be up to the Professional Continental Teams to put on the big show. Team Wiesenhof-Felt will counting on sprinter Olaf Pollack to maintain the tradition of a Wiesenhof win in "Rund um die Nürnberger Altstadt" race this coming Sunday.

"The race in the Nürnberger Altstadt (Old Town) has developed into a sprinter's race and Olaf Pollack has already won here once in 2001," said Markus Schleicher, the team's Directeur Sportif. Four riders associated with the team have won the race in the last seven years: Team manager Raphael Schweda won the race in 2000, Pollack in 2002, Sebastian Siedler in 2004 and Gerald Ciolek in 2006. Both Siedler and Ciolek rode for Wiesenhof when they won.

Wiesenhof for Nürnberg: Olaf Pollack, Robert Retschke, Christian Leben, Daniel Musiol, Felix Odebrecht, and Jörg Ludewig.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1