Van Garderen, Phinney, Horner, Abbott headline US team for world championships

USA Cycling will field a strong line-up of riders for the upcoming UCI Road World Championships later this month.

Joining automatic selections Freddie Rodriguez (Jelly Belly Cycling), Andrew Talansky (Garmin Sharp) and Tejay van Garderen (BMC) will be current Vuelta a Espana overall leader Chris Horner (RadioShack Leopard), Taylor Phinney (BMC), Alex Howes (Garmin Sharp) and Peter Stetina (Garmin Sharp).

Phinney, 2012 bronze medallist in the individual time trial, will get a chance to better that this month and will be joined by Talansky. The Garmin Sharp rider finished second in the time trials at Paris-Nice, prologue at the Tour of Romandie and the USA Pro Challenge.

Tom Danielson (Garmin Sharp) was eligible to race courtesy of his fourth overall at the Tour of Romandie, however he declined his start.

Automatically selected for the elite women's road race are Mara Abbott (Exergy Twenty16), Shelley Olds (Team Tibco-To the Top), Carmen Small (Specialized-lululemon), Evelyn Stevens (Specialized-lululemon) and Jade Wilcoxson (Optum p/b Kelly Benefit Strategies). Runner-up at the Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and US elite women's road champion Megan Guanier (Rabobank-Liv-Giant) and overall winner of the Cascade Cycle Classic, Kristin McGrath (Exergy Twenty16) are the other selections.

Last year's silver medallist in the individual time trial Stevens, will be joined by national champion Small in the chrono.

The five-man under-23 contingent includes the four automatic nominations of Nathan Wilson (Bontrager Cycling Team), Lawson Craddock (Bontrager Cycling Team), Nathan Brown (Bontrager Cycling Team) and national U23 amateur champion Tanner Putt (Bontrager Cycling Team). Gavin Mannion (Bontrager Cycling Team) was selected as a discretionary pick after placing eighth at the Tour de l'Avenir in France last week.

Brown was also an automatic selection for the U23 individual time trial after winning the bronze medal at the national championships. He will be joined in the time trial by Craddock, a discretionary selection who finished just behind Brown in fourth place.

Elite Men
Chris Horner (RadioShack Leopard)
Alex Howes (Garmin Sharp)
Taylor Phinney (BMC) – competing road race and time trial
Freddie Rodriguez (Jelly Belly Cycling)
Peter Stetina (Garmin Sharp)
Andrew Talansky (Garmin Sharp) – competing in road race and time trial
Tejay van Garderen (BMC)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1