US team to track world's

Based on performances at World Cup level from the 2005/06 season, the United States has qualified for 14 start positions in this year's track world championships in Bordeaux, France from April 13-16. Riders were selected from the final USA Cycling track talent pool, comprised of riders who have qualified at the 2005 elite track national championships, met a time standard at qualification events in Los Angeles, or by coaches' selection.

The U.S. team is led by five members of the 2005 world championship team (Giddeon Massie, Christian Stahl, Bobby Lea, Jennie Reed and Becky Quinn) and should fare well with the notable additions of UCI World Cup standings runner-up Sarah Hammer and Pan American time trial champion Kristin Armstrong on the women's side.

Hammer has been the U.S. team's top performer with four medals (three gold, one silver) in endurance events on the World Cup circuit this season after taking last season off from racing. Veterans Quinn and Reed have also produced strong performances this year. Quinn took two silver medals in the World Cup in Los Angeles, one in the points race and one in the scratch race. Reed also picked up two silver medals, but in the sprint and keirin at the World Cup in Sydney.

The men's side includes nine riders making their track world's debut, including L.A. World Cup bronze medalist Michael Blatchford and recent Tour de Normandie stage winner Brad Huff.

U.S. Team

Men's Sprint

Stephen Alfred (SPiKE / Capitola, Calif.)
Ben Barczewski (SPiKE / Breinigsville, Pa.)
Michael Blatchford (SPiKE / Cypress, Calif.)
Giddeon Massie (SPiKE / Lansdale, Pa.)
Christian Stahl (CKR Racing / Bethany, Conn.)

Men's Endurance

Michael Friedman (TIAA-CREF / Boulder, Colo.)
Bobby Lea (Toyota-United Pro Cycling Team / Mertztown, Pa.)
Brad Huff (TIAA-CREF / Fair Grove, Mo.)
Chad Hartley (TIAA-CREF / Willowbrook, Ill.)
Danny Pate (TIAA-CREF / Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Michael Creed (TIAA-CREF / Colorado Springs, Colo.)
Taylor Tolleson (TIAA-CREF / Boulder, Colo.)

Women's Sprint

Jennie Reed (SPiKE / Kirkland, Wash.)

Women's Endurance

Sarah Hammer (Southbay Wheelmen / Temecula, Calif.)
Becky Quinn (SPiKE / Quakertown, Pa.)
Kristin Armstrong (TEAm Lipton / Boise, Idaho)

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1