UK National Trophy #5

Ian Field in second wheel

Ian Field in second wheel (Image credit: Luke Webber)

By Luke Webber

A thrilling sprint finish concluded 60 minutes of the best cyclo-cross racing Britain has seen this year, as Ian Field took the final round of the National Trophy at Abergavenny. Second place was good enough for Crawforth to regain the series title, earning three emphatic victories on the way.

On a cold day in the Welsh hills bike handling skills proved all-important for those wanting to win. The lap was fairly flat and fast with a long tarmac section and several grassy flats allowing plenty of chaingangs to form. The undoubted sting came in the form of several tight and tortuous hairpins - many of which were off camber and slick with mud.

It was a track for the rider who possessed speed, agility, bike skills, tactical awareness and nerve - something Field had in spades.

How it unfolded

A class field took to the line for the final National Trophy, with many hoping to fine tune their form for the upcoming National Championships. Among the riders were the 2005 protagonists; Crawforth, Field, Wilkinson, Collins, Oldham alongside which was current national champion Nick Craig, mountain bike star Liam Killeen, Belgian Ronny Poelvoorde, Dane Joachim Parbo and American Jeremy Powers.

Riders set off at a lightning pace along the tarmac with Powers (Jelly Belly) taking to the front, followed by a string of riders sprawled across the Leisure Centre.

For complete race report, photos and results, click here.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1