U.S. Gran Prix standings after Gloucester

Elite Women's leader Lyne Bessette (Cyclocrossworld.com-Louis Garneau) remains undefeated thus far in U.S. Gran Prix races, but Barbara Howe (Velo Bella), Wendy Simms (Kona), Melissa Thomas (Tokyo Joe's), and Ann Knapp (Kona) remain within striking distance for the series championship. Should Bessette falter in either of the final weekend's California races, Howe and Knapp are well situated to make a last-minute charge at the leader's jersey.

Parity rules the Elite Men's ranks, with three different winners in the first four races, Ryan Trebon (Kona) and Tim Johnson (Cyclocrossworld.com-Louis Garneau) are tied for points, though Trebon took the leader's jersey off Johnson's back by virtue of having won more events than Johnson, two to one. Trebon will miss the final two races in the series due to his European racing schedule, throwing the doors open for an even greater battle for the overall title. Johnson figures to face serious challenges from Adam Craig (Giant), Mark McCormack (Team Clif Bar), and Barry Wicks (Kona) in the California races.

Defending National Champion Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar) maintains a solid lead in the Under-23 men's title race, though Troy Wells (TIAA-CREF/Clif Bar) took second in the Elite race in Gloucester and could yet spring a surprise on Anthony in California. A picture of consistency, Dale Knapp (Kona) has finished on the podium at every U.S. Gran Prix race so far, giving him the leader's jersey in the process. Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory) and Danny Summerhill (TIAA-CREF/Clif Bar) have entertained fans on both coasts with their ding-dong battle so far in 2005. Selander holds the series lead in the Junior Men going into the final races, but Summerhill has proven capable of beating the reigning Junior National Champion. The Junior title promises to go down to the final minutes of the final race in San Francisco.

Overall Series leaders Trebon, Bessette, and Selander also lead the FOCUS First Lap Competition season tally in their respective categories. Chris D'Alusio (Morgan Stanley-Specialized) leads the Masters Men's FOCUS First Lap Competition through four races. The FOCUS First Lap Competition rewards the fastest rider through the first lap with cash prizes and points towards the season competition. Season-long winners will receive FOCUS cyclocross frames after the final U.S. Gran Prix race in San Francisco.

The 2005 Crank Brothers U.S. Gran Prix of Cyclocross continues November 19 in Watsonville, California with the Surf City Cyclocross.

2005 Crank Brothers U.S. Gran Prix of Cyclocross Series Points Standings after 4 of 6 Series Events

Elite Men
1. Ryan Trebon (Kona), 140
2. Tim Johnson (Cyclocrossworld.com/Louis Garneau), 140
3. Adam Craig (Giant), 137
4. Mark McCormack (Clif Bar), 116
5. Barry Wicks (Kona), 100
6. Erik Tonkin (Kona), 69
7. Shannon Skerritt (Vanilla Bicycles), 65
8. Carl Decker (Giant), 65
9. Matt Shriver (Kona/Easton), 43
10. Matt Kelley (Alan Factory Team), 39

Elite Women
1. Lyne Bessette (Cyclocrossworld.com/Louis Garneau), 200
2. Barbara Howe (Velo Bella), 140
3. Ann Knapp (Kona), 124
4. Wendy Simms (Kona), 103
5. Melissa Thomas (Tokyo Joes), 102
6. Rhonda Mazza (Team S&M/Vanilla Bicycles), 96
7. Georgia Gould (Kona), 82
8. Stacey Spencer (Cycle Smart), 68
9. Christine Vardaros (Velo Bella), 56
10. Maureen Bruno Roy (Independent Fabrication), 47

Under -23 Men
1. Jesse Anthony (Clif Bar), 190
2. Troy Wells (TIAA Cref/Clif Bar), 147
3. Christian Meier (Symmetrics), 114
4. Mitchell Peterson (Balance Bar/Devo), 86
5. Daniel Neyens (Rad Racing NW), 68

Junior Men
1. Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team), 174
2. Danny Summerhill (TIAA-CREF/Clif Bar), 170
3. Alex Howes (TIAA-CREF/Clif Bar), 152
4. Chance Noble (Scary Fast), 112
5. Stephen Delisle (Hilton CC/Contes), 77

Masters Men
1. Dale Knapp (Kona), 158
2. Jon Gallagher (Cole Sport), 117
3. Chris Peck (Fiordifrutta), 100
4. Richard Feldman, 90
5. Andy Applegate (Easton/Kona), 90

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1