Skip to main content

Trio of Australians to lead Team CSC at Tour of Britain

Stuart O'Grady (CSC)

Stuart O'Grady (CSC) (Image credit: Jon Devich)

Stuart O'Grady, Bradley McGee and Matthew Goss will lead the number-one ranked Team CSC - Saxo Bank to the Tour of Britain in September.

O'Grady, who is currently riding the Tour de France, is no stranger to British roads having won the PruTour in 1998 and clinched gold in the road race at the 2002 Commonwealth Games in Manchester.

Fellow Australian McGee, who has won stages at both the Tour de France and Giro d'Italia and worn the leader's jersey in both races, will be riding The Tour of Britain just two weeks after having competed in the Beijing Olympics.

Backing up O'Grady and McGee will be a third Australian, Goss. The 21 year-old wore the Tour of Britain's yellow jersey for a day in 2006, though had to abandon the race through injury. A year later Goss took victory at the end of stage three into Wolverhampton.

A trio of young Danes, Anders Lund, Andre Steensen and Kasper Klostergaard, will fill out the roster for the team, which has ridden every edition since the race's re-birth in 2004.

The team's most successful year came in 2006 when it won the race with Martin Pedersen (who also won the first stage), the King of the Mountains jersey with Andy Schleck, as well as the overall team classification.

"We are very pleased to welcome Team CSC - Saxo Bank back to The Tour of Britain," said Tour of Britain spokesman Paul Rowlands. "The race is now five year's old, and Team CSC - Saxo Bank have supported us right from the start, sending a strong and competitive squad every year to the race, and I'm sure 2008 will be no different."