Track Worlds: teams finalised

France's team sprint – unbeatable?

France's team sprint – unbeatable? (Image credit: AFP)

Entries have now closed revealing the team nominations for the forthcoming UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Manchester from March 26-30, 2008. A total of 300 riders comprising 207 men and 93 women from 37 nations are on the list for 18 events during the five-day championships.

One of the biggest battles for medals will be in the men's team sprint. Teams from France, Netherlands, Great Britain, Germany and Australia will all fancy their chances in the three-man race. Great Britain has revealed the early nominations as Jamie Staff, Ross Edgar and Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny and Matt Crampton, but the final team won't be revealed until next Tuesday. The Dutch team is fixed with Theo Bos, Tim Veldt and Teun Mulder, but the Australians are likely to choose three out of their nominated Ryan Bayley, Mark French, Ben Kersten and Daniel Ellis. The French team has already been announced with Arnaud Tournant recruited as a reserve, but the legendary sprinter will ride the Keirin event pitched against Britain's Chris Hoy. Hoy had a winning streak of 22 consecutive wins in the Keirin over the past year. Bos and Mulder are also listed to ride in the sprint competition.

The Men's World team pursuit champions of Great Britain have ridden close to the four-minute mark this season for the 4,000 metre event, with Bradley Wiggins nominated alongside Ed Clancy, Steve Cummings, Geraint Thomas, Steven Burke and Paul Manning for the four-man race. Current World record holders Australia have named a strong six-man squad for the team pursuit: Brad McGee, Luke Roberts, Graeme Brown, Brett Lancaster, Jack Bobridge and Mark Jamieson.

Victoria Pendleton and Shanaze Reade are listed to defend their World title in the women's team sprint with talented youngster Anna Blyth as third nominee. Pendleton is also included on the women's sprint and Keirin lists, but looks likely to give the 500 time trial a miss with Reade and Blyth nominated for the two-lap race.

The British women's team pursuiters will debut at the championships with Rebecca Romero, Jo Rowsell, Wendy Houvenaghel and Liz Armitstead also on the list with final selection next Tuesday. The British team face fierce challenges from the German, Russian and Ukrainian teams. The Dutch squad debuted in second place in Copenhagen last month behind the improving German winners, and both teams are expected to raise their game in the challenge for medals in Manchester. Romero will be out to improve on the silver medal she won in Palma last year in the individual pursuit, when the former world rowing champion was beaten by American Sarah Hammer in the final.

The field for the men's Kilo looks very strong despite its omission from the Olympic Games this year. The event is always a crowd favourite and they won't be disappointed with names like François Pervis, Didier Henriette (France), Ben Kersten, Scott Sunderland (Australia), Theo Bos, Teun Mulder.

A full list of riders can be viewed on the official website at

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1