Three-time winners look to repeat at Gila

Two previous three-time winners will be looking to add to their tallies at the 2006 edition of Teleperformance's Tour of the Gila, New Mexico, USA, May 3-7. Defending champion Burke Swindlehurst (Navigators) took the overall in 2005 on the final day's Gila Monster road stage. He'll be bringing only one team-mate from Navigators, but Phil Zajicek won two stages and the overall at La Vuelta de Bisbee, held the weekend prior to the Tour of the Gila in nearby Bisbee, AZ.

The other triple champion racing this week is Drew Miller (, who first won the Gila in 1990. Miller gave Zajicek a run for his money at Bisbee, winning the final stage and finishing second overall.

However, Swindlehurst, Zajicek and Miller will face tough opposition from some of the USA's top domestic professional teams. Season-long rivals Toyota-United and Health Net/Maxxis will both field squads and the team of rising stars TIAA-CREF will feature former under-23 world time trial champion Danny Pate.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1