T-Mobile at GP Rudy Dhaenens

The series of three one-day races in Belgium continues on Sunday with the GP Rudy Dhaenens (UCI Cat. 1.1). The 188 km circuit race, in and around the town of Nevele, honours the late Rudy Dhaenens, world champion in Japan in 1990. Seven ProTour teams will participate, namely T-Mobile, Quick.Step, Davitamon-Lotto, La Française des Jeux, Bouygues Telecom, Cofidis and Rabobank.

The German T-Mobile team has announced its roster. Eric Baumann, who placed fourth at Nokere-Koerse in East Flanders on Wednesday, is eyeing a podium finish this weekend. Again joining him are three neo-pros (Marcus Burghardt, Bas Giling and Bernhard Kohl), as well as Tobias Steinhauser and Jan Schaffrath. Dutchman Bram Schmitz will also return to racing since finishing Paris-Nice last Sunday.

"The riders do ten laps of a 19 km circuit - it could come down to a hectic sprint finale," said T-Mobile Team press officer Luuc Eisenga. In this case, T-Mobile sports director Frans van Looy will be looking to Eric Baumann: "He is in good form and only missed the podium by a whisker on Wednesday. Maybe it will work out this time," he said.

T-Mobile for GP Rudy Dhaenens: Eric Baumann (24), Marcus Burghardt (21), Bas Giling (22), Bernhard Kohl (23), Jan Schaffrath (33), Tobias Steinhauser (33) and Bram Schmitz (27).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1