Skip to main content

Strong field for Australian Madision championship

This weekend sees one of the highlights of the Australian track season as the Australian Madison championship rolls out at the Joe Ciavola Velodrome, DISC, Darebin, Victoria at 7:00pm on Saturday February 18.

Thirteen teams will contest the championship, with one of last year's winning pair, Cofidis rider Chris Sutton (NSW), paired with Tasmanian rising star Matthew Goss. They will face strong opposition from Simon Clarke (Victoria) and Miles Olman (Queensland) who are out to impress the national selectors ahead of the track world championships in Bordeaux, France in April. Tasmanians Darren Young and Nathan Clarke are another strong pairing - Young has represented Australia in the Madison, while Clarke is a two-time winner of Tasmania's prestigious Latrobe wheelrace.

The program also offers a full range of supporting events, featuring international competitors preparing for the Commonwealth Games including Malaysian sprint sensation, Josiah Ng.

For more see information see