Specialized rebuilds for the coming year

By Susan Westemeyer

Team Specialized Designs for Women has replaced half of its squad for the coming season. The Swiss team has added six new riders as it goes into its second season.

Only six riders are returning from last year's 11-woman squad, with six newcomers being added. One is German sprinter Tanja Hennes. The 36 year-old is coming over from Team Bigla, as are two Swiss riders, Monika Furrer and Andrea Knecht. Danish rider Karina Hegelund Nielsen will be making her professional debut. She won the professional women's national road title this year as a junior.

Two of the new riders are coming from outside of Europe. American Kristen LaSasso rode this year for TEAm Lipton. Min Hye Lee of Korea will add a exotic touch to the team. She won Rund um Visp this year and is reigning Korean time-trail champion and Asian pursuit champion.

Briton Emma Pooley remains the team's captain. She finished eighth in the World's time trial and 10th in the road race.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1