Skip to main content

South African cyclist of the year awards

The nominees have been released for the 2006 Go Banking Cyclist of the Year Banquet which takes place in Sandton next Wednesday (22 November).

In the category for men's road cyclist of the year the six nominations represent a good mix of youth and experience with youngsters John Lee Augustyn (Konica Minolta) and Nolan Hoffman (Exel) making a first appearance on the star studded nominee list. The other nominees in this category are David George (Relax-GAM), Robert Hunter (Phonak), Ian McLeod (Française Des Jeux) and Malcolm Lange (Microsoft).

In the category for women's road cyclist of the year, junior Cherise Taylor finds herself among South Africa's elite ladies after two stunning top ten rides at the World Championships. There are seven nominees in the women's category with Elsa Karsten, who is back racing this year following her recovery from cancer, also making the grade. The nominees are Karsten (CBIST), Taylor (Mr Price Gauteng Youth Cycling Academy), Anriette Schoeman (Proline), Marissa van der Merwe (Proline), Lynette Burger (Harmony), Chrissie Viljoen (Harmony) and Cassandra Slingerland (Proline).

The top three in the category for overall men's mountain-biker of the year are multiple world championship downhill medallist Greg Minnaar (G Cross Honda), Kevin Evans (Raleigh) and Burry Stander (GT), while in the women's category Yolande Speedy, Tania Raats and Yolanda de Villiers are the chosen three.

The cyclist of the year awards are taking place for the sixth time this year and is again shaping up to be a glamorous affair in the company of hosts, Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwin.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1