Simoni, Mayo, and Freire for Andalucía

Gilberto Simoni

Gilberto Simoni (Image credit: Bettini Photo)

By Antonio J. Salmerón

The Vuelta a Andalucía organizer has announced that Ibán Mayo and the Italian Gilberto Simoni will lead their Saunier Duval-Prodir team in the race, which will be contested from February 18-22 over a route of 823 kilometres.

The Basque Ibán Mayo was the star signing for the Spaniard Pro Tour squad for 2007. The team will take on the Vuelta a Andalucía as preparation for the Giro de Italia, Tour de France, and Vuelta a España. Simoni and Mayo are the team's weapons for the Giro and the Tour respectively.

The Vuelta a Andalucía will field 15 cycling teams with seven cyclists each for a total of 105 racers. The first stage will start in Otura (Granada). This year's edition's longest stage is 179km, and the race features eleven category 3 climbs.

The Vuelta a Andalucía organizer also expects the attendance of some of the top sprinters of the world, such as Oscar Freire, Max van Heeswijk (Rabobank), Tom Boonen (Quick Steep) and Robbie McEwen (Predicting).

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1