Skip to main content

Saxo Bank finalises Giro lineup

Team Saxo Bank has named their nine-rider squad for the upcoming Giro d'Italia with one change to their original roster. Danish champion Nicki Sørensen will not ride the Giro d'Italia as scheduled and has been replaced by Kasper Klostergård.

Team manager Bjarne Riis explained Sørensen's exclusion. "Nicki has in the recent period convinced us that he should be included on the Tour de France squad, and of course it would be natural for him to take a break now and skip the Giro," said Riis.

"He has been racing on a high level during the spring and during the Ardennes Classics he has really impressed us with his strength and experience. He will undoubtedly be a huge factor in the Tour de France in both the team time trial, where he has always been among the best, and in the mountains, which are his primary strengths."

Team Saxo Bank for the Giro d'Italia: Fabian Cancellara, Jens Voigt, Kasper Klostergård, Jason McCartney, Juan Jose Haedo, Lars Bak, Matthew Goss, Anders Lund and Jurgen Van Goolen.