Rohan Dennis in contention for Tour de France return

Rohan Dennis
Rohan Dennis (Australia) on his way to a bronze medal in the time trial at the Tokyo Olympic Games (Image credit: Getty Images Sport)

Rohan Dennis could make his long-awaited return to the Tour de France next year after Jumbo-Visma confirmed that he was in contention for a starting spot among their eight-man roster.

Dennis is set to ride for Jumbo-Visma, signing a two-year contract with the Dutch team after leaving Ineos Grenadiers. Jumbo-Visma typically announces their Tour de France roster in December and despite having not yet pushed a pedal for the team Dennis could form part of an eight-man squad that is likely to include Primož Roglič, Jonas Vingegaard, and Wout van Aert.

Dennis hasn’t ridden the Tour de France since he abandoned mid-race in 2019 under controversial circumstances during his time at Bahrain-McLaren. He has spent the last two seasons at Ineos Grenadiers and proved to be a vital rider in Tao Geoghegan Hart’s Giro d’Italia win in 2020, while he also has a yellow jersey and four Grand Tour stage wins to his name.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Daniel Benson

Daniel Benson was the Editor in Chief at between 2008 and 2022. Based in the UK, he joined the Cyclingnews team in 2008 as the site's first UK-based Managing Editor. In that time, he reported on over a dozen editions of the Tour de France, several World Championships, the Tour Down Under, Spring Classics, and the London 2012 Olympic Games. With the help of the excellent editorial team, he ran the coverage on Cyclingnews and has interviewed leading figures in the sport including UCI Presidents and Tour de France winners.