Skip to main content

Revolution Track Series introduces team format

The Manchester velodrome

The Manchester velodrome (Image credit: AFP)

Organisers of Britain's Revolution track cycling series have announced the introduction a team event, the Revolution Championship, to its programme for the 2009/2010 season.

The league format will see the formation of eight teams that will include both junior riders and elite competitors including Chris Hoy and Mark Cavendish. The teams will gather points across a programme of designated events.

Races in the Revolution Championship will include male and female junior events, a sprint, 200m time trial, points race and the series' signature kilo Madison.

Series organiser James Pope said the new league format had been designed to compliment the series' existing events. "The new championship will slot neatly into the existing race programme," he said.

"The races will make up about half the programme, so the rest of the action will be made up of the usual Revolution events with head to heads and feature races providing plenty of entertainment for the audience."

Two-time World Champion Rob Hayles has been confirmed as captain of one of the eight teams. He will be responsible for guiding the younger members of the team throughout the series.

"The format sounds really exciting,"said Hayles. "It will be fantastic for the young riders to be part of a team alongside the big names; I know it would have been a real inspiration for me when I was a young rider. I just hope I can pass on enough wisdom to help my team to compete for the title."

The Revolution Championship will get underway at Manchester Velodrome on Saturday November 14. This year will be the seventh edition of the series, with subsequent rounds to be held on December 5, January 16 and February 27.

Follow Cyclingnews on Twitter for the very latest coverage of events taking place in the cycling world -