RadioShack announces Amstel Gold Race squad

RadioShack Nissan has announced their team for Sunday’s Amstel Gold Race with Andy and Fränk Schleck set to lead the team. American rider Chris Horner also lines up, and having had a strong start to the season with 2nd overall in Tirreno – Adriatico, the team boast a number of options.

Fränk Schleck won the race back in 2006 and, along with younger brother Andy, has regularly targeted the Ardennes Classics, which kick off with Amstel, before attention shifts to La Flèche Wallonne and Liège - Bastogne – Liège. However both Schlecks have endured difficult starts to the season.

RadioShack has won just two individual races this season, both courtesy of Fabian Cancellara. However the Swiss rider crashed out of the Tour of Flanders at the start of the month and with a broken collar bone on the mend will miss the next few weeks of racing.

His time off means there is an added incentive and pressure for the team to pluck a result from the Ardennes.

RadioShack-Nissan’s Amstel Gold Race team:
Jan Bakelants, Laurent Didier, Ben Hermans, Chris Horner, Maxime Monfort, Joost Posthuma, Andy Schleck & Fränk Schleck


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1