Pogacar: If I see an opportunity to attack, I will

Tadej Pogacar and Jonas Vingegaard at the Tour de France
Tadej Pogacar and Jonas Vingegaard at the Tour de France (Image credit: Getty Images)

Tadej Pogačar entered the 2022 Tour de France as the overall favourite for victory in Paris, but the defending champion now has to go on the attack in the Pyrenees as he resumes his battle with overall leader Jonas Vingegaard.

Following Monday's rest day in Carcassonne, the Tour resumes with a Pyrenean triple-header, including summit finishes at Peyragudes and Hautacam. Now lying at 2:22 down on the maillot jaune, Pogačar will have to pick up where he left off at the Alpe d'Huez and Mende, where he attacked the Dane repeatedly.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

Dani Ostanek
Senior News Writer

Dani Ostanek is Senior News Writer at Cyclingnews, joining in 2017 as a freelance contributor and later being hired full-time. Before joining the team, they had written for numerous major publications in the cycling world, including CyclingWeekly and Rouleur.

Dani has reported from the world's top races, including the Tour de France, Road World Championships, and the spring Classics. They have interviewed many of the sport's biggest stars, including Mathieu van der Poel, Demi Vollering, and Remco Evenepoel. Their favourite races are the Giro d'Italia, Strade Bianche and Paris-Roubaix.

Season highlights from the 2024 season include reporting from Paris-Roubaix –  'Unless I'm in an ambulance, I'm finishing this race' – Cyrus Monk, the last man home at Paris-Roubaix – and the Tour de France – 'Disbelief', gratitude, and family – Mark Cavendish celebrates a record-breaking Tour de France sprint win.