Skip to main content

Phonak betting on Merckx and Moos in Fleche Wallonne

Team Phonak will be competing on two fronts today: at the Tour de Georgia and La Flèche Wallonne. The Belgian classic covers 202 km from Charleroi to Huy, where the fourth stage of the Tour de France will also start from on July 5. With the finish atop the famous Mur de Huy (1.3 km at 10 percent), it usually all comes down to that last climb.

Miguel Angel Martin Perdiguero, who was Phonak's best rider at the Amstel Gold Race (7th), travelled to his native Spain on Monday where he will train intensively for Liège-Bastogne-Liège, which is scheduled for next Sunday. Thus, Phonak has named Axel Merckx and Alexandre Moos as leaders for Wednesday. The Swiss rider has already demonstrated his outstanding form as a support rider on several occasions this spring. Uros Murn, who injured his hand during a crash at Paris-Roubaix and therefore didn't compete in the Amstel Gold Race, will return to action for the team.

Live coverage of Flèche Wallonne

Make sure you follow all the action, live on Cyclingnews, from 14:00 local time (CEST)/08:00 EDT (USA East)/05:00 PDT (USA West)/22:00 AEST (Australia East).

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1