Olympic rematches in L.A.

The 2005 UCI Track Cycling World Championships from March 24-27, in Carson, California will draw together the world’s finest track cyclists including 27 Olympic medallists, dozens of Olympians, 11 defending world champions and three world record holders, resulting in a number possible 2004 Athens Olympic rematches within the new ADT Event Center throughout the event.

In addition this, there are a number of 2004 defending world champions who will be in attendance. Riders looking to continue their reign as world champion include: Chris Hoy (GBr - Men's 1km TT World Champion), Sergi Escobar (Spa - Men's Individual Pursuit World Champion), Olga Slyusareva (Rus - Women's Points Race World Champion), Anna Meares (Aus - Women's 500m TT World Champion), Jamie Staff (GBr - Men's Keirin World Champion), Theo Bos (Ned - Men's Sprint World Champion), Juan Esteben Curuchet (ARG - Madison World Champion), Greg Henderson (NZl - Men's Scratch Race World Champion), Clara Sanchez (Fra, Women's Keirin World Champion), Mickaël Bourgain and Arnaud Tournant (Fra - Men's Team Sprint World Champions), and Stephen Wooldridge (Aus - Men's Team Pursuit World Champion).

2004 Athens Olympic medalists slated to compete include: Anna Meares (Aus - Gold Women's 500 m TT, Bronze Women's Sprint), Lori-Ann Muenzer (Can - Gold Women's Sprint), Chris Hoy (GBr - Gold Men's 1 km TT), Stefan Nimke (Ger - Gold Men's Team Sprint, Bronze Men's 1km TT, 2000 Silver Men's 1 km TT), Rene Wolff (Ger - Gold Men's Team Sprint, Bronze Men's Sprint), Mikhail Ignatiev (Rus - Gold Men's Points Race), Olga Slyusareva (Rus - Gold Women's Points Race, Bronze Women's Road Race, 2000 Bronze Women's Points Race), Joan Llaneras (Spa - Silver Men's Points Race, 2000 Gold Men's Points Race), Natalia Tsylinskaya (Blr - Bronze Women's 500 m TT), Sergi Escobar (Spa - Bronze Men's Individual Pursuit, Bronze Men's Team Pursuit), Tamilia Abassova (Rus - Silver Women's Sprint), Theo Bos (Ned - Silver Men's Sprint), Jose Escuerdo (Spa - Silver Men's Keirin), Belem Guerrero Mendez (Mex - Silver Women's Points Race), Arnaud Tournant (Fra - Silver Men's 1 km TT, Bronze Men's Team Sprint, 2000 Gold Men's Team Sprint), Erin Mirabella (USA - Bronze Women's Points Race), Shane Kelly (Aus - Bronze Men's Keirin, 2000 Bronze Men's 1km TT), Steve Cummings (GBr - Silver Men's Team Pursuit), Rob Hayles (GBr - Silver Men's Team Pursuit, Bronze Men's Madison), Paul Manning (GBr - Silver Men's Team Pursuit, 2000 Bronze Men's Team Pursuit), Guido Fulst (Ger - Bronze Men's Points Race, 2000 Gold Team Pursuit, 1992 Gold Team Pursuit), and Karin Thurig (Swi - Bronze Women's Individual Time Trial).

Previous Olympic medalists registered include: Marty Nothstein (USA - 2000 Gold Men's Sprint, 1996 Silver Men's Sprint), Oxana Grishina (Rus - 2000 Silver Women's Sprint), Matthew Gilmore (Bel - 2000 Bronze Men's Madison), Robert Bartko (Ger - 2000 Gold Men's Individual Pursuit, Gold Team Pursuit), Chris Newton (GBr - 2000 Bronze Men's Team Pursuit), and Jason Queally (GBr - 2000 Gold Men's 1 km TT).

Current world record holders, Arnaud Tournant (Fra - Men's 1 km TT, 58.875), Anna Meares (Aus - Women's 500 m TT, 33.592), and Olga Syusareva (Rus - Women's Sprint, 10.831) are all competing.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1