Skip to main content

New Zealand Tour Down Under team announced

Tuesday, the official New Zealand team for the 2007 Tour Down Under was announced. Coinciding with a parliamentary luncheon hosted by the Minister for Sport recognising 2006 world championship and Commonwealth Games cycling medallists, BikeNZ announced the team of eight cyclists who will represent New Zealand at the most prestigious road cycling event in the Southern Hemisphere.

The 667 km Tour Down Under starts on January 16 in Adelaide and traverses South Australia. The tour consists of 14 teams of eight riders, plus reserves, and is normally only open to national teams representing Australia and invited professional teams from Europe and North America. 2007 is the first time a national team outside of Australia has been invited to compete and offers valuable UCI ranking points.

The team will be Hayden Roulston, Tim Gudsell (pending availability from his pro team), Heath Blackgrove, Peter Latham, Logan Hutchings, Jeremy Vennell, Clinton Avery and Matthew Haydock.

The team staff will consist of Jacques Landry (Director), Kris Withington (Mechanic), Sarah Blake (Massage Therapist) and Tessa Soolaart (Physiotherapist).

New Zealander Julian Dean will be riding for his pro team, Crédit Agricole.

The 2007 Tour Down Under will be held January 16 – 21, 2007. For further information please visit the official website at

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1