Navigators say goodbye, and hello to Type 1

The Navigators cruising in New Mexico

The Navigators cruising in New Mexico (Image credit: Casey Gibson)

By Susan Westemeyer

As the saying goes, when one door closes, another one opens – or in this case, when one cycling team ends, another starts. After 14 years, there will be no Navigators Insurance team in the American peloton in 2008, but the team management company and several riders are moving to the new Team Type 1.

In a press release issued January 1, the team noted the end of "America's longest continuous professional cycling team sponsorship." On behalf of the management and the 70 cyclists who have ridden for Navigators over the years, "we want to thank our many fans and sponsors for their enthusiasm, commitment and loyal support. It has been a remarkable and rewarding journey, and a privilege to represent the Navigators Insurance Company on five continents."

Turning to the new season, Edj Sports Management and several riders "will be working with an exciting new American Continental team known as Team Type 1. Beyond its competitive objectives, the team's mission will be to raise awareness for diabetes, and the positive affect of a healthy and active lifestyle in controlling and preventing the long term affects of the disease."

Team manager Ed Beaman and assistant team manager Vassili Davidenko will be at the new team, as will riders Benjamin Brooks, Glen Chadwick and Valery Kobzarenko,

"Thanks for the memories, we hope you'll join us on our new voyage," the press release concluded.

The team announced in September that it was losing its sponsor and ending at the end of the season. It made its farewell to the peloton in the Tours of Britain and Poland.

Team Type 1 Professional team: Emile Abraham, Moises Aldape Chavez, Jesse Anthony, Ben Brooks, Fabio Calabria *, Glen Chadwick, Joe Eldridge *, Tim Hargrave, Dan Holt, Chris Jones, Valeriy Kobzarenko, Ian Macgregor, Shawn Milne, Phil Southerland * and Matt Wilson.

Team Type I Development team (all riders have Type 1 diabetes): Nathan Bartels, Alex Bowden, Matt Brooks, Monique Hanley, Andy Mead, Morgan Patton, Tim Powell, Bob Schrank and Mark Suprenant

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1