Skip to main content

More changes to come at Caisse d'Epargne

Eusebio Unzúe

Eusebio Unzúe (Image credit: Shane Stokes)

By Antonio J. Salmerón

Eusebio Unzúe has announced some of the changes for Caisse d'Epargne next year. "The staff roster isn't finalised, and there are still some pending matters remaining. For the time being there are some 25 or 26 cyclists on the provisional roster."

The only two additions at this stage are Costa Rican rider Andrey Amador from the Navarre Lizarte squad, and promising young Frenchman Arnold Jeannesson (Auber 93).

Four riders have left the Spanish team: Joan Horrach and Vladimir Karpets (both heading to Katyusha), Patanchon and Jose Rujano. Mathiu Perget, León Sánchez, Txente García, Pablo Lastras, Daniel Moreno, Francisco Pérez and Luis Pasamontes have already extended their contracts while Unzúe said that Rojas has also recently extended his stay.

The acquisition of Team CSC-Saxo Bank's Gustav Larsson is still on the table despite Bjarne Riis' new offer to the Olympic silver medallist. "Yes, the acquisition is still in the air," said Unzúe. "And we expect to resolve this matter quickly."

David Arroyo, Anthony Charteau, Arnaud Coyot, Mathieu Drujon, Inmanol Erviti, José Iván Gutiérrez, David López, Alberto Losada, Óscar Pereiro, Marlon Pérez, Nicolas Portal, Joaquín Rodríguez, Rigoberto Urán, Alejandro Valverde and Xabier Zandio will continue to ride for the team in 2009 and have all cemented their positions contractually.

Unzúe also expects another sponsor will join Caisse d'Epargne next year, saying: "It would be desirable that [the sponsor] was Spanish, but for now there is still nothing," he concluded.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1