Meares, O'Grady join Australian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission

Anna Meares and Stuart O’Grady have been elected to a four-year term on the Australian Olympic Committee Athletes’ Commission.

Eight new Commission members are elected by athletes at each summer Olympic Games with a further two elected at the winter Games.

Meares goes back to Australia having won gold in the women’s sprint and bronze in the team sprint while O’Grady, competing in his sixth Olympic Games finished sixth in the men’s road race and was the five-man Australian team’s highest-placed finisher.

Meares took to twitter following news of her election:

"Just found out we @AnnaMeares & @stueyOG were elected to AOC athletes commission :) little bit proud. Athletes voted by athletes," she said.

AOC Secretary-General Craig Phillips said the Athletes’ Commission plays an important part in the strategic planning of the Australian Olympic Committee.

"We are delighted with the calibre of the people chosen by the athletes to represent them, and the AOC Executive looks forward to working with the Commission to ensure the needs of the athletes are always central to our decision making," he said.


Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1