Skip to main content

Liquigas to debut at 2006 Tour Down Under

Italian team Liquigas-Bianchi has been the first confirmed team by the organiser to start at next year's Jacob's Creek Tour Down Under, taking place from January 17-22. Magnus Bäckstedt, the winner of 2004 Paris-Roubaix will lead the ProTour squad around South Australia's shores for the first time.

"We are delighted to have a Paris-Roubaix winner on the race," said Race Director, Mike Turtur. "Bäckstedt is no stranger to the event having competed here in 1999 and 2000 as Stuart O'Grady's teammate with Crédit Agricole."

Joining the tall Swede in the Liquigas line-up will be Stefano Zanini, who has also competed on the streets of Adelaide with his former outfit Quick.Step. Other riders named to participate are Daniele Colli, Alberto Curtolo, Mauro Da Dalto, Manuel Quinziato, Michael Albasini and Nicola Loda.

Further teams and riders competing in the Tour will be confirmed as they become available. For further event information please visit

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1