Hunter wins prize for best South African cyclist

Hunter won stage 11 of the 2007 Tour

Hunter won stage 11 of the 2007 Tour (Image credit:

The seventh edition of the Standard Bank Cyclist of the Year Awards Evening held at Emperors Palace in Johannesburg, South Africa yielded the expected results, with Barloworld rider Robert Hunter garnering the big prize as rider of the year. This is the fifth time he has won the award in the last seven years. One of the highlights of the evening was the auctioning of his stage 11 Tour de France stage winning jersey, won by the Colorpress head man Ryan Lotter. The funds raised will be utilised to assist two charities of Hunter's choice.

The winners of the various categories were as follows:

Overall Men's mountain biker of the year: Burry Stander
Downhiller of the year: Greg Minaar
Cross country rider of the year: Burry Stander
Most promising men's mountain biker of the year: Rourke Crouser
Womens mountain biker of the year- Yolandi Speedy
Most promising women's m/b of the year: Caitlin de Wet
Men's road: Robert Hunter
Women's road of the year: Cherise Taylor
Promising man: Jacques Janse Van Rensburg
Promising women: Robyn de Groot
Men's track: Gadi Chait
Women's track: Joanne van der Westhuizen
Mens BMX of the year: Sifiso Nlapho
Womens bam of the year: Sharlene Mc Gilvray
Men's veteran of the year: Andrew Mclean
Women's veteran of the year: Liza Vermaak
Special award for race that highlights SA to the world: Cape Epic
SA team of the year: Microsoft/MTN
Journalist of the year: Adele Tait
Photographer including TV of the year: Aubrey Coetzee
Physically disabled of the year: Gavin Kilpatrick
Road race of the year: Pick n Pay Cape Argus Cycle Tour
Mountain bike race of the year: Sani2Sea

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1