Skip to main content

Half of CSC in Beijing

Like Team Columbia, the CSC-Saxo Bank squad is currently missing half its squad as riders are in Beijing to represent their countries at the Olympic Games. A full 15 riders will be in the men's road race alone: Carlos Sastre will represent Spain, while Jens Voigt will wear the colours of Germany. Stuart O'Grady will lead the Australian team, while the Schleck brothers will make up two-thirds of the Luxembourg squad.

Riding for Sweden will be Gustav Erik Larsson and Marcus Ljungqvist, while Kurt-Asle Arvesen will don the blue and red of Norway. Chris Anker Sørensen and Nicki Sørensen ride for the Danish team. Karsten Kroon (Netherlands), Jason McCartney (USA), Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland), Alexandr Kolobnev (Russia) and Juan Jose Haedo (Argentina) are all in Beijing as well.

In addition to the road racers, Bradley McGee will represent Australian in the track events, making 16 of the team's 28 riders off racing in China.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1