Skip to main content

Germany announces Worlds contenders

The Bund Deutscher Radfahrer (German Cycling Federation) has named its final men's teams for the upcoming World Championships in Varese, Italy. The team will be led by Deutschland Tour winner Linus Gerdemann and Stefan Schumacher, who last year finished third in the Words.

They will be supported by Gerdemann's Team Columbia team-mates Marcus Burghardt and Gerald Ciolek, and Schumacher's Gerolsteiner team-mates Markus Fothen, Sebastian Lang and Fabian Wegmann. Team Milram is represented by Erik Zabel and Christian Knees. Alternate riders are Columbia's Andre Greipel, Rabobank's Paul Martens and Björn Schröder of Milram.

The BDR had earlier announced that Columbia's Bert Grabsch and Tony Martin would ride the time trial, with Lang as substitute.

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month* Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1