German long team named for World's

The German Cycling Federation (BDR) has announced a provisional men's team that will contest the World Championships in Madrid between September 21 and 25. The 25 member team includes all the usual suspects: Jan Ullrich, Erik Zabel, Robert Förster, Jens Voigt, and Michael Rich, along with new face Gerald Ciolek (Akud Arnolds Sicherheit), who also happens to be a very good sprinter and the reigning German champion. With a sprinters' course laid out in Madrid, Ciolek could well make the final cut.

The full team:

Rolf Aldag (Ahlen) T-Mobile
Markus Burghardt (Leipzig) T-Mobile
Gerald Ciolek (Pulheim) Akud Arnolds Sicherheit
Robert Förster (Markkleeberg) Gerolsteiner
Markus Fothen (Kaarst) Gerolsteiner
Linus Gerdemann (Münster) CSC
Heinrich Haussler (Cottbus) Gerolsteiner
Jörg Jaksche (Ansbach) Liberty Seguros
Matthias Kessler (Kreuzlingen/Swi) T-Mobile
Andreas Klier (Denderwindeke/Bel) T-Mobile
Christian Knees (Bonn) Wiesenhof
David Kopp (Bonn) Wiesenhof
André Korff (Forchheim) T-Mobile
Sebastian Lang (Erfurt) Gerolsteiner
Jörg Ludewig (Steinhagen) Domina Vacanze
Michael Rich (Ellmendingen) Gerolsteiner
Ronny Scholz (Herrenberg) Gerolsteiner
Stephan Schreck (Erfurt) T-Mobile
Patrik Sinkewitz (Künzell) Quick Step
Tobias Steinhauser (Scheidegg) T-Mobile
Jan Ullrich (Scherzingen/Swi) T-Mobile
Jens Voigt (Berlin) CSC
Fabian Wegmann (Freiburg) Gerolsteiner
Erik Zabel (Unna) T-Mobile
Thomas Ziegler (Erfurt) Gerolsteiner

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1