Garrett Lemire Memorial Grand Prix

The third annual Garrett Lemire Memorial Grand Prix (GLMgp) will be held this Sunday, April 2, in downtown Ojai, California. Top professional domestic cycling teams from all over the country will be present, as well as many amateur racers.

One of the top-rated races on the National Race Calendar (NRC), the 2006 GLMgp will be a one-mile circuit course, commencing at 7:00 am with the Masters Men field of 75 riders. At 11:35 am, the women pro riders will come to the start line. This approximately one-hour event will spotlight the top women riders in the country. The Men’s Pro/1 category is scheduled to start at 1:25 pm, with one hundred twenty racers in the field.

The 2006 field of men’s professional teams includes local team, Successful Living, managed by local Ojai racer Ryan Yee. Formerly of Team Sea Silver, Yee now manages and races for Successful Living, while continuing to dedicate many hours to the Garrett Lemire Memorial Grand Prix. Also expected to make a strong showing are Team Jelly Belly and newly formed Toyota United, which is managed by two-time GLMgp winner Harm Jansen of Thousand Oaks.

Women's teams to watch include the newly formed Colavita Cooking Light, which joined powerhouse Quark after the 2005 season. Led by Dotsie Bausch, the team promises to be a strategic presence at Sunday’s race. Other possible winning teams include Team Lipton, led by last year’s 2005 GLMgp winner Laura Van Gilder, T-Mobile’s Kim Anderson and Ojai native and former Olympic silver medalist Mari Holden.

For more information on the event and the Garrett Lemire Memorial Foundation, please visit

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1