Skip to main content

Euskaltel Euskadi announces Tour team

Euskaltel Euskadi has already decided on the nine riders that will start the 95th Tour de France on July 5 in Brest. The team of Miguel Madariaga will consist of Haimar Zubeldia, Samuel Sánchez, Mikel Astarloza, Rubén Pérez, Gorka Verdugo, Iñaki Isasi, Egoi Martínez, Amets Txurruka and Juanjo Oroz.

Euskaltel Euskadi is optimistic ahead of its eighth participation in the Tour. The last results in the Dauphiné Libéré and the Tour de Suisse have reinforced the morale of the orange team. Madariaga declared that the objective is to be "better than in 2007. Last year, we did a very good Tour, our team was compact and competitive. This needs to be the signal for this team, too. This edition, we start with dreams, we have a very strong squad. The Tour de France is a very complicated race, but we are well prepared. I don't want to give a concrete objective, but our aspiration has to be to be better than last year.

Igor Antón, who finished the Tour de Suisse in third place, is not part of the nine riders selected.

Thank you for reading 5 articles in the past 30 days*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read any 5 articles for free in each 30-day period, this automatically resets

After your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1