Skip to main content

Dutch and Belgian time trial champions crowned

Leif Hoste (Predictor - Lotto)

Leif Hoste (Predictor - Lotto) (Image credit: Luc Claessen)

Defending Belgian time trial champion Leif Hoste (Predictor-Lotto) successfully defended his national title Wednesday in Maldegem. The 30 year-old finished the 45 km course in 57'10" ahead of Philippe Gilbert (Française des Jeux) and team-mate Jurgen Van Den Broeck.

Françis De Greef (Davitamon-Win for Life-Jong Vlaanderen/Ruisbroek) won the U23 division while An Van Rie AA-Drink Cycling Team) won the 22.5km women's version in 32'24".

On the same day in The Netherlands, more time trial titles were awarded. Stef Clement won the men's title in 54'11". Michiel Elijzen and Rick Flens finished second and third. Lars Boom won the U23 title, and Kim van Dijk won over second-place Regina Bruins and third place Mirjam Melchers.

Read full results of the Belgian and Dutch national time trials.