Skip to main content

Cycling features at Australian Sports Awards

Reflecting the growing prominence of cycling in Australia, the country’s leading riders plus cycling teams, media and events have been nominated in nine categories for tonight's Australian Sports Awards in Sydney (February 22).

Nominations have been achieved in the following categories: Female athlete of the Year (Oenone Wood), International team of the Year (Australian World Road Championship Team), Male athlete of the Year (Robbie McEwen), Masters athlete of the Year (Peter Barnard), Sports Media Award (Gennie Sheer), Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability (Chris Scott), Sports Tourism Award (Jacob's Creek Tour Down Under), Young Australian male athlete of the Year (Amiel Cavalier) and Young Australian team of the Year (Australian Junior Men’s Downhill Team)

SBS will broadcast the awards ceremony from 10pm (AEDST). For further information on the awards go to:

Thank you for reading 5 articles this month*

Join now for unlimited access

Enjoy your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1

*Read 5 free articles per month without a subscription

after your trial you will be billed £4.99 $7.99 €5.99 per month, cancel anytime. Or sign up for one year for just £49 $79 €59

Join now for unlimited access

Try your first month for just £1 / $1 / €1